07 Oct 2021 6:12 AM +00:00

WoW Classic: Season Of Mastery - Everything We Know

Blizzard has confirmed their plans for fresh Classic servers, which will see the creation of 12-month seasonal Vanilla realms, with some extra changes from the last time Classic was in its Vanilla stage.

WoW Classic: Season of Mastery will be a fresh start for players who love the original version of the game, but with the changes announced, seem to be focused on players more engaged with the endgame, with the faster release schedule and raid boss buffs, players will be exposed to content a lot faster than previously.

This first year may serve as a test run for Blizzard with the possibility of further changes in the future seasons, keeping the game fresh for returning players.

Jump To

Read more: WoW Classic Season Of Mastery Servers Announced.

WoW Classic: Season Of Mastery - Everything We Know


Latest News

Blizzard has released a blue post on the forums detailing the design intentions behind the Season of Mastery, including the decision the keep loot drops the same as the original Classic despite the shorter length.

When Does The Season Of Mastery Come Out?

There is currently no release date for the Season of Mastery, but there are two possible release schedules.

November 23rd is the World of Warcraft's anniversary day, which would serve as a perfect release time for the new game.

There is also a chance that the game may not be released until the new year depending on how far progressed the development is, meaning a late January or February launch, which would also provide a nice timeline for the future seasons.

When Is The Season Of Mastery Beta?


Update - The Season of Mastery beta is now Live with a level cap of 30. Each week new content will slowly be added the the beta build before the launch.

Season of Mastery will go into beta on the 5th of October, however, there is no information regarding how long it may last.

The beta is open to all players and serves as a means to test the new changes that will be added to the game.

There is no information on how long it will last, or if there will be any max-level templates to test end game content on.

WoW Classic: Season Of Mastery Phase Schedule

The cycle is similar to the original release although there are plans to release more content during the early stages of the game.

Phase 1

(Season of Mastery Launch)

  • Molten Core
  • Onyxia
  • Maraudon
  • PvP Honor System and Battlegrounds

Phase 2

  • Dire Maul
  • Azuregos
  • Kazzak

Phase 3

  • Blackwing Lair
  • Darkmoon Faire
  • Darkmoon deck drops begin

Phase 4

  • Zul’Gurub
  • Green Dragons

Phase 5

  • Ahn’Qiraj War Effort begins
  • Ahn’Qiraj raids open as the war effort dictates

Phase 6

  • Naxxramas
  • Scourge Invasion

Read more: World Of Warcraft Classic: Season Of Mastery Content Phases Explained.

What Changes Are Coming To The Season Of Mastery?

  • World buffs are disabled upon entering raids.
  • Old raid mechanics are making a return
  • No boss debuff limit
  • Increased health on bosses to increase the difficulty and offset no debuff limit
  • TBC leveling nerfs in the game
  • Meeting Stones are now Summoning Stones