World Of Warcraft Classic: Season Of Mastery Content Phases Explained

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Blizzard has announced the details surrounding World of Warcraft Classic Fresh servers, which are called the Season of Mastery.

This new fresh vanilla server will follow the same format as the previous game, although will operate a bit differently.


The plan is to have seasonal-type servers, and Blizzard is aiming to have servers progress over a 12 month period instead of the average 2-year expansion cycle.

The cycle is similar to the original release although there are plans to release more content during the early stages of the game.

Read more: WoW Classic Season Of Mastery Servers Announced.

World Of Warcraft Classic: Season Of Mastery Content Phases Explained

Phase 1

(Season of Mastery Launch)

  • Molten Core
  • Onyxia
  • Maraudon
  • PvP Honor System and Battlegrounds

Phase 2

  • Dire Maul
  • Azuregos
  • Kazzak

Phase 3

  • Blackwing Lair
  • Darkmoon Faire
  • Darkmoon deck drops begin

Phase 4

  • Zul’Gurub
  • Green Dragons

Phase 5

  • Ahn’Qiraj War Effort begins
  • Ahn’Qiraj raids open as the war effort dictates

Phase 6

  • Naxxramas
  • Scourge Invasion

The main changes are the introduction of the PvP honor system and Battlegrounds with the launch of the Season of Mastery, which was previously scattered throughout phases 2, 3, and 4.

Blizzard hasn't confirmed what seasons will look like, and this first year may serve as a test run to see what changes people would like to future releases of the game.


While these servers are a mix between Classic fresh and plus, two types of game modes players have been asking for, nobody knows what to expect from the Season of Mastery.

There is also no information regarding what happens to the characters and servers once the one year is up, but there will likely be a forever server with a full list of content released, much like the Classic era was after The Burning Crusade was released.