Everything We Know About Super Smash Bros. Ultimate's Last DLC Character

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Tekken's Kazuya joined the Smash Ultimate roster in June, which means we're down to the Smash Ultimate last DLC fighter. While series creator Masahiro Sakurai stated we won't see the last Smash DLC fighter until later in 2021, we're getting news soon.

However, what isn't clear is who this fighter could be, which has historically proven itself to be quite a guessing game, and Nintendo do love surprises. Regardless of the uncertainties, here's everything we know so far about the last Smash DLC character.

Table of Contents

Read more: Our ultimate Smash Ultimate tier list

Advertisement

Smash Ultimate Last DLC Character Reveal

Sakurai previously confirmed in one of his weekly Famitsu columns that the last Smash Ultimate DLC character would be revealed around the time of the Tokyo Game Show. As confirmed in September's Nintendo Direct, we're getting one last "Mr. Sakurai Presents For Super Smash Bros. Ultimate", which broadcasts on October 5th at 7am PT / 10am ET / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST.

Smash Ultimate Last DLC Character Release Date

During the Kazuya presentation, Sakurai confirmed the last character is on track to release in 2021. This could always change depending on COVID-19 and other factors, but if the reveal is happening in early October, a release date soon after makes sense.

Smash Ultimate Last DLC Character: Who Is It?

That's the biggest question and the most difficult to answer. So far, Nintendo hasn't followed a set pattern in choosing characters. Some are based on the publisher's previous partnerships or nods to its past, e.g. Cloud from Final Fantasy VII.

Others represent pop culture, such as Steve/Alex from Minecraft, and still others are in there just because Sakurai likes them. Sora from Kingdom Hearts, Dante from the Devil May Cry series were often rumoured, too.

If we had to guess - which we have, at length - we'd say the final character will be from one of Nintendo's legacy franchises or another high-profile IP crossover, such as Master Chief or DOOM Slayer.