Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer release time - When can you play?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
Image showing Modern Warfare 2 player aiming with gun
Credit: Activision
October 28, 2022: Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer is live across all platforms. Before dropping in, check out the best Modern Warfare 2 maps that feature in the game!

The Modern Warfare 2 release time is a question on the minds of several players preparing to drop into Infinity Ward's latest blockbuster. Before the community finds their way into multiplayer action, the campaign early access period allows players to get their hands on the single-player ahead of the official launch.

Advertisement

Previous Call of Duty titles went live at midnight local time depending on your region but more recent iterations of the shooter franchise launch at a more reasonable hour which is great news for those wanting to work through the story.

Table of Contents

Before we take a closer look at the Modern Warfare 2 release time, check out our guides highlighting the best Modern Warfare 2 guns and all there is to know about the Modern Warfare 2 campaign.

Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer release time

Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer Release Time

Loading...

While some regions are already dropping into the action, many are beginning to wonder when the game goes live across Europe. For UK fans, it's an early start as the servers go live at 5AM BST on October 28

For those in other parts of the world, here's a full list of Modern Warfare 2 release times:

Advertisement
  • 6AM CEST
  • 12AM ET
  • 9PM PT (October 27)
  • 11PM CT (October 27)
  • 1PM JST
  • 3PM AEDT
Image showing Modern Warfare 2 player holding LMG
Credit: Activision

When can I play Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer?

October 20 is the day players can start the Modern Warfare 2 campaign. Unfortunately, this date isn't when you drop into multiplayer. Although you can access the campaign, multiplayer will remain locked until Modern Warfare 2's official release date which is October 28.

However, there is a chance Infinity Ward switch on the servers ahead of launch meaning digital pre-orders may have a chance of ranking up earlier than those who pre-order a physical copy or have to wait until October 28 in order to play.

If the multiplayer servers are switched on ahead of time, we will update the guide with all the latest intel.

Advertisement

Modern Warfare 2 New Zealand release time

The New Zealand release time for Modern Warfare 2 is already catching the attention of players wanting to jump into the action at the earliest possible moment. This is because some Xbox players switch their regions in order to access the game early. Here's when the game releases in New Zealand:

  • 1PM BST (October 27)
  • 2PM CEST (October 27)
  • 4AM PT (October 27)
  • 7AM ET (October 27)

Modern Warfare 2 campaign missions

After working through Infinity Ward's latest single-player blockbuster, there are a total of 17 missions in the Modern Warfare 2 campaign.

Locations include Mexico, the USA, and The Netherlands and will play host to missions ranging from stealthy operations to high-octane car chases packed with explosive action.

Advertisement

Is the Modern Warfare 2 campaign good?

At the time of writing, it's unclear if the Modern Warfare 2 campaign is another strong storyline building on the foundations of 2019's Modern Warfare campaign. Infinity Ward has an impressive track record when it comes to creating memorable stories so there's a high chance the developer delivers once again.

Once we've worked our way through the missions, we will share our final verdict.

That's all there is to know about the Modern Warfare 2 release time. For more, check out our guides showcasing the best Modern Warfare 2 sniper rifle and all the multiplayer intel you need to know.