Rockstar Officially Announces GTA Remaster Trilogy

The Grand Theft Auto remastered trilogy is officially real. Rockstar made the announcement on Twitter following weeks of rumors, datamined icons, and accidental leaks about a simultaneous PC launch. It's officially called Grand Theft Auto Trilogy: The Definitive Edition and will launch later in 2021 for PS 4 and PS5, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S, and PC via the Rockstar Launcher, though Rockstar provided no specific date just yet.

The Grand Theft Auto Trilogy: Definitive Edition includes:

  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas
  • Grand Theft Auto: Vice City
  • Grand Theft Auto 3

Read more: Everything we know about GTA 6 so far

Rockstar Officially Announces GTA Remaster Trilogy

The collection will also launch on iOS and Android devices in 2022.

Rockstar made the announcement on Twitter with a brief trailer, but followed up with a statement on Rockstar Newswire.

While Rockstar mentioned no specifics about what's new in each enhanced version, the publisher did say they feature "across-the-board upgrades including graphical improvements and modern gameplay enhancements."

The release coincides with the original Grand Theft Auto's 20th anniversary, and Rockstar said it plans to celebrate that further in GTA Online with clothing, livery, and more. GTA Online is also getting its first standalone release in November, alongside GTA 5's release on next gen consoles.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Grand Theft AutoGaming News
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!