Coinbase accounts offer multiple services to their users in terms of cryptocurrency trading, such as the Coinbase Quiz or Coinbase NFT marketplace but does it allow its users to delete Coinbase accounts?
With the steady expansion of the cryptocurrency world, many users are up for constant experimentation. They may want to transfer from Coinbase to Binance after deleting or closing their trading accounts on Coinbase.
While it may seem impossible at first, Coinbase does permit its users to close their accounts on the exchange. Let's see how users can delete or disable their Coinbase accounts in a few guided steps.
How To Delete A Coinbase Account?
Coinbase technically does allow its users to permanently close their accounts on the exchange. But before doing that, users must keep a few things in mind.
First, the Coinbase account that a user wants to close must have zero balance, only then will it be closed.
If there are any funds in the account, Coinbase advises its users to either move them to some other wallet or send them to a fellow Coinbase user before proceeding with closing the account.
It's worth noting that deleting your Coinbase account will also close your Coinbase Pro account.
Recently, the exchange has announced that it will be merging all its facilities under one domain and will be eliminating its pro service version. Along the lines, the platform will also be introducing the Coinbase Advanced Trade feature to permit users to access premium trader facilities without having to switch in between multiple apps.
To close your Coinbase account, a user must follow the steps mentioned below:
- Go to Coinbase.com.
- Click on your profile.
- Select close account near your profile. This must be done from a web browser and not from Coinbase mobile app
- Your Coinbase account is now permanently closed.
Why Won't Coinbase Let Me Close My Account?
Certain times a user may encounter issues related to closing their account, where a regular pop up may prohibit them from closing their accounts. In such a case, a user must ensure that he has zero funds in his account before closing his account. This type of error usually pops up when there are some funds left in the respective crypto account. In order to delete a Coinbase account, the account should have ZERO funds in it.
Can You Delete A Coinbase Account On Mobile?
Users are not permitted to close their accounts via Coinbase mobile app.
Instead, they must use the web browser version of Coinbase to permanently close their accounts on the exchange.
However, the majority of crypto users do not shut their accounts permanently, but simply log out from the application in case they are seeking to explore other apps.
Through this way, users can always avail the option of logging back in case they wish to access the facilities of Coinbase again.
However, if the users do wish to close their accounts permanently they can do so by accessing Coinbase's website from their desktops and laptops and following the entire closing procedure to delete their accounts permanently from Coinbase's database.
For more articles like this, take a look at our Planet Crypto page.