25 May 2021 9:21 PM +00:00 UTC

Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown Gets Officially Confirmed, Launches On June 1

We've been awaiting this confirmation for some time. Having been rated in Korea last month, many fans long suspected Sega were planning to revive Virtua Fighter 5 once again, last seen on the PS3 back in 2012. Today, Sega's formally confirmed Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown launches on June 1st.

Arriving as a PS4 exclusive, Virtua Fighter 5's received the full remake treatment here, as opposed to a simpler remaster. Incorporating all previous content, this will utilise Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio’s Dragon Engine, best known for being used in newer Yakuza entries like Lost Judgment.

Read More: Virtua Fighter 5 Is Reportedly Included In June's PlayStation Plus Line-Up

Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown Gets Officially Confirmed, Launches On June 1

Releasing a ntrailer through IGN, we've got a rundown of VF5's new features. Each stage has new background music, there's a new user interface and opening cinematic, alongside multiple graphical upgrades. You can also spectate online matches in real-time, build robin-robin-style online tournaments and there's private and public lobbies, supporting up to 16 players.

Advertisement

That's not all we can expect either. While it's unclear how the two are related, we previously saw a leaked PSN listing confirm Virtua Fighter eSports is arriving too. With a countdown website running until May 27, Sega are set to broadcast a live stream at 4am PT/ 7am ET / Noon BST / 1pm CEST, confirming just what this eSports project is.