Resident Evil Village: How to Change Difficulty

Resident Evil Village has a variety of difficulty options that you can use to customise your experience, with four main settings available. To help make sure you're getting the right difficulty for your play style we've put together this Resident Evil Village Change Difficulty guide. We'll list the four main difficulty options and take a look at whether or not you can swap between them mid-game.

Read More: How to Save Your Game

Resident Evil Village Difficulty Options

There are four main difficulty options to choose from in Resident Evil Village. Here's what they are and a little bit of info on each:

  1. Casual - the easiest option. For those who want to experience the story and focus on exploration.
  2. Standard - the default setting. A challenging experience but with plentiful supplies and ammo.
  3. Hardcore - fewer supplies and increased enemy attack damage.
  4. Village of Shadows - unlocked after completing the campaign, or by redeeming the Trauma Pack DLC. Extremely difficult.

An image showing the Farrow Plot area of Resident Evil Village
expand image

Can You Change Difficulty Mid-Way Through the Game?

Much like its predecessors, Resident Evil Village does not allow players to change difficulty mid-game. Because of this, make sure you think about your initial choice carefully. We recommend starting on Standard, but a good gauge to determine whether it's too hard or too easy for you is in the beginning of Resident Evil Village when you need to survive the attack.

That's all you need to know about the difficulty option sin Resident Evil Village. For more help with the game check out our guide on using Wells. Elsewhere there's our Resident Evil Village Review.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Resident Evil Village
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!