Remnant 2 difficulty and level scaling explained

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
Screenshot of Remnant 2 death screen
Credit: Gunfire Games
September 13, 2023: Remnant 2 is no walk in the park, so check out everything there is to know about difficulty and level scaling in our guide.

The relentless combat of a “souls-like” game such as Remnant 2 is one of its most thrilling aspects. However, if you’re a fan of souls-like games, then you’ll notice some variations as Remnant 2 difficulty settings and level scaling work a little differently in this title. Therefore, let’s take a look at the detailed explanation of the difficulty and level scaling.

Remnant 2 can be tough but still approachable to players unfamiliar with the genre, due to the ability to tweak its difficulty settings. However, with a well-implemented level scaling system, the creatures never feel like punching bags and always pose a serious threat. With our difficulty and level scaling guide, you’ll better understand which difficulty suits your skills and how to understand the game’s levelling system, as well as gain all of the difficulty rewards.

Also, for more Remnant 2 guides, be sure to check out how each archetype works and how the game's crossplay is set up.

Remnant 2 difficulty settings explained

As with Remnant: From the Ashes, Remnant 2 consists of 4 difficulty modes. Let’s take a look at each one of them individually.

Remnant 2 difficulty settings
click to enlarge
+ 2


Survivor is the base difficulty that is more accessible to newer players. It is by no means an easy challenge, but it tends to be more forgiving towards the players who've yet to master the game mechanics.


The veteran is essentially the hard mode difficulty, more apt for the veterans of the first game or players experienced with souls-like combat. All bosses and non-boss enemies feel tanky while dealing extra damage.


Nightmare is a crushing difficulty that’s not recommended for beginners and even for skilled players. This mode requires extreme mastery of the game mechanics and a well-rounded inventory to conquer.


Apocalypse is the highest difficulty that is unlocked after beating the game once. Bosses' base HP and damage points are multiplied by 4, whereas you can gain 1.5 times more experience. Even the non-boss enemies are ruthless, making this a near-impossible challenge.

An interesting feature in this game is the Adventure mode which lets you replay any biome after finishing it in your campaign. Hence, you can fight a boss multiple times on the difficulty of your choice.

How does Level Scaling in Remnant 2 work?

Level scaling in Remnant 2 can be a bit tricky to understand. As the in-game areas are randomly generated, their level is determined by the weighted average of your level.


This weighted average is determined by the highest-level item in your inventory, while the level of each newly discovered area adds 1 to that weighted average. However, once a zone is discovered, its level stays unchanged unless you re-roll the campaign. You can check your character’s power level on the character screen.

remnant 2 character power level
click to enlarge
+ 2

For the resource drops, the actual average of your gear is taken into account. At the same time, bosses in each region have a global minimum average (on top of the weighted average). So, if a world boss has a minimum level of 10, it wouldn’t be lowered even if you’re carrying under-levelled items.

This mechanic ensures some of the early bosses don’t end up feeling like a joke to the players.

So that's everything you need to know about Remnant 2 difficulty settings and enemy-level scaling. While you're here also check out our Remnant 2 reroll guide and how long it takes to beat the game.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Guides and Remnant 2 page.