God of War Ragnarok length - How long does it take to beat?

Kratos running through a cave in God of War Ragnarok

Kratos running through a cave in God of War Ragnarok

Now that the game is finally out, if you're looking to figure out the God of War Ragnarok length, we've got you covered. Given the first game was a pretty big one, it makes sense that God of War Ragnarok is aiming to be just as expansive.

As well as going over the length of God of War Ragnarok from our playthrough, we'll break down whether there's a New Game+ mode, and how many realms you can explore. All of those contribute to extending your time with the game.

If you want more information on God of War Ragnarok, check out our review, the full God of War Ragnarok voice cast, a look at how to parry, and what luck does.

How long is God of War Ragnarok?

God of War Ragnarok will take anywhere between 20 and 50 hours to complete, from start to finish.

The amount of time you spend with the game will depend on how you play, and how much of the many side quests you intend to take on. If you want to just get through the main story, without all the side content, it should take you around 20 hours. The game could take up to 50 hours to get 100% in, and somewhere in between if you just want to do some of the side content without getting a Platinum trophy.

It may take you even longer if you struggle with the game's bosses or need to hunt down some resources. If you find yourself challenged quite a lot, there's no shame in turning the difficulty down.

No matter how you play, God of War Ragnarok is a hefty experience that'll keep you busy for plenty of time.

Kratos and Atreus in a boat in God of War Ragnarok
expand image

How many realms are in God of War Ragnarok?

Throughout the game, you will manage to make your way around nine different realms. You can get through them through playing the main story and completing some of the game's main side quests. If you plan on seeing them all and completing the adventure fully, it'll take you a good while. Those realms are as follows:

  • Midgard
  • Svartalfheim
  • Niflheim
  • Jotunheim
  • Alfheim
  • Musphelheim
  • Vanaheim
  • Helheim
  • Asgard

Does God of War Ragnarok have a New Game+ mode?

As of launch, God of War Ragnarok does not have a New Game+ mode. Therefore, once you finish the story, you can't start over again with all your current upgrades in tow.

That being said, the 2018 God of War didn't get a New Game+ mode until a few months after the game launched. It seems likely God of War Ragnarok will do the same. If enough players want the mode, we'll likely see it eventually.

Now that you know how long the game is, here's what you need to know about fast travel in God of War Ragnarok, and how to find the Chaos Flame and Frozen Flame. If you want something different, have a look at our Genshin Impact tier list.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

GuidesGod of War Ragnarok