02 Aug 2021 3:40 PM +00:00

Battlefield 2042: Exodus Short Film Revealed, Premieres Next Week

EA's announced that next week, they'll releasing a Battlefield 2042 standalone short film. Calling this "Exodus", that'll premiere on August 12th at 8am PDT / 11am ET / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST directly through YouTube.

We've yet to get a runtime for this short film, though EA's confirmed it'll be a prequel, showing us the events leading up to Battlefield 2042. Within the YouTube description, they offered this brief description:

Witness the events that will trigger an all-out war in this standalone short film set in the World of 2042. Premieres August 12th at 8am PDT, 5pm CEST

Read More: Battlefield 2042: Will There Be Crossplay And Cross Platform Gameplay?

Battlefield 2042: Exodus Short Film Revealed, Premieres Next Week

Offering a brief 15 second teaser, that comes with a rather cryptic message, simply stating "The world wants to forget we exist. We will force them to see". That gave us a brief glimpse of a battleship, several planes approaching a heavy thunderstorm, grounded soldiers and little else.

Advertisement

It's an interesting approach, one we've similarly seen from EA when they released Anthem: Conviction in 2019. Between offering Battlefield 5 through Amazon Prime Gaming, an upcoming technical playtest and teases for new modes, EA's making a big marketing push. We'll keep you informed when we find out more.