21 May 2021 9:13 AM +00:00

Sega Announce Virtua Fighter X eSports Live Stream For May 27

Just like Lost Judgment, Sega let the cat out of the bag early for a new Virtua Fighter entry. While they'd previously hinted at it during Tokyo Game Show 2020, last month saw a leaked PSN listing all-but-confirm that Virtua Fighter X eSports is arriving soon.

Now, they've setup a countdown website for this mysterious new project running down until May 27. That links to a freshly created YouTube account, with a live stream set to broadcast at 4am PT/ 7am ET / Noon BST / 1pm CEST. On the stream, the descriptions confirms "We will officially announce the "Virtua Fighter x eSports" project"

Read More: Sega Confirms They're Exploring Options To Revive Old Franchises

Sega Announce Virtua Fighter X eSports Live Stream For May 27

It's clear that Sega's got a multiplayer focus for this upcoming entry, and it's worth remembering this wouldn't be the first "eSports" game we've seen from Sega. Previously, they released Puyo Puyo eSports and that had a focus on competitive multiplayer.

There's also the previous rumours of a Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown port, which was rated in Korea not so long ago. We don't have long to find out more but after a long hiatus, it looks like this acclaimed fighting series is finally making a comeback.