LEGO Star Wars The Skywalker Saga Release Date: Everything We Know

This article contains information about the 'release-date' of either a movie, game or product. Unless stated explicitly, release dates are speculative & subject to change. See something wrong? Contact us here

January 20, 2022: Updated to include new information about the release date, characters, worlds, and vehicles.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is coming, and it'll tie together all nine mainline movies in the franchise and wrap them up in its charming, slapstick, blocky aesthetic.

Players will be able to hop to any movie from all nine Star Wars movies, meaning you'll be able to work from the Phantom Menace all the way to the Rise of Skywalker. Alongside this, you can earn yourself hundreds of characters to play as and embark on a plethora of optional missions on the side. You get all of this with the classic touch of LEGO humour.

From the release date to what worlds you will be able to visit, here's everything we know so far about LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

Release Date

The game is due to be released on April 5, 2022. On release, it will be available for the following platforms:

  • PS4
  • PS5
  • Xbox
  • Xbox Series X/S
  • Nintendo Switch
  • PC
LEGO Star Wars The Skywalker Saga Character Line-Up
expand image


As seen in the recent gameplay overview, you will be able to get your hands on and fly some of the most iconic vehicles from the movies. You can fly the iconic Millennium Falcon or strap yourself in to pilot an X-Wing. If that wasn't enough, you can also get your hands on a few land-based vehicles too. You can ride a Speeder-Bike on the Forest Moon of Endor or race around Tatooine on a Land-Speeder. Either way, you will be able to control some epic vehicles from the legendary franchise.

LEGO Star Wars The Skywalker Saga Galaxy Map
expand image


It is no secret that the Star Wars universe is huge and you will be able to explore a huge portion of it in the game. In the recent gameplay overview, we were introduced to the Galaxy Map and some of the planets you can unlock while playing through the story. Naboo, Hoth, and Dagobah are just a few of the ones that have been revealed.


You can stick to the main story quests from each episode (movie) or you can venture off and explore the planet. It seems that going off on your own little adventures is encouraged and you may even be rewarded with collectibles. We assume this means that the structure of each area will be semi-open world, if not fully open-world.

Optional Side Missions

There are small activities that you can choose to do on your adventures. They are completely optional. Some of the activities and optional side missions that we have seen so far include a shooting gallery challenge where you have to shoot Womp Rats. Another is clearing out some baddies from the Mos Eisley Cantina or engaging in option dialogue with random characters.

Latest Trailer

You can find the latest trailer for the game below. Alongside finally getting a confirmed release date, we get to see more of the overall gameplay mechanics of the game.

We will update this page as we learn more.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is not the only big Star Wars game that has been in development. Recently, Quantic Dream revealed a trailer for the one they are working on. So far, all we know is it's set in the High Republic Era and it is still in early development. In other news, Bioware's expansion for Star Wars: The Old Republic has been delayed until early 2022.

Contributions from Lloyd Coombes.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Star WarsGaming NewsGuides
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!