Does Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart Have New Game+?

Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart city

Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart city

Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart has a decent-length campaign that’ll last you a while, but with so many weapons and upgrades to unlock, is there the chance to use them all from the start? Does Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart Have New Game Plus? We’ll explain below, and lay out the details of the special Challenge Mode.

Read More: Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart Review

Does Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart Have New Game+?

Yes, Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart does have New Game Plus, which unlocks the first time you complete the main campaign of the story. It lets you carry over all weapons, upgrades, levels and collectibles you earned during the campaign previously, able to use them from the very beginning of the restarted story. There are some nuances to this New Game Plus though, which is specifically known as Challenge Mode, and we’ll lay them out below.

Challenge Mode Explained

There’s several key differences to Challenge Mode in Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart, that effect gameplay and the way you play alike.

If you're looking for more help with Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart, be sure to visit our Rift Apart Walkthrough Hub . You'll be able to find every guide we have on the game so far.


Once you start challenge mode, you’ll have the chance to reselect the difficulty of the campaign, the nuances of which we’ve laid out for you here. Challenge Mode also tends to be slightly harder overall though, with slightly more enemies generally (though this tends to be cancelled out by your firepower being so high from the start).

Bolt Multiplier

Challenge Mode also introduces a Bolt Multiplier mechanic - as you defeat more and more enemies, the amount of Bolts you earned is multiplied. We’ve seen this go as high as 21 times more, with seemingly no limit to how high it can go. However, if you take damage at any point, the multiplier is reset to one, and you’ll have to start your streak from the beginning.

Ratchet and Clank Rift Apart New Game Plus challenge mode omega weapons
expand image

Weapons and Upgrades

Any weapons, levels, bolts and upgrades you earned during the campaign, including Raritanium upgrades and the Map-O-Matic, are carried over into Challenge Mode, though platforming abilities like the Hurlshot or Hoverboots won’t unlock until their designated point in the story.

Not only that, but you can buy further upgrades that you couldn’t before. Any weapon you raise to Level 5 can be boosted at Ms. Zurkon’s shop by buying the “Omega” version. These do more damage, get new unlockable abilities, and it raises the level cap by a further 5 levels. However, they’re incredibly expensive, especially the late-game weapons, explaining the inclusion of the Bolt Multiplier mechanic. The Omega version of the RYNO 8, for example, costs one million bolts, a staggering expense.

Fortunately, we’ve laid out how you can farm bolts as effectively as possible right here. Or if you haven’t unlocked the super-powered RYNO yet, we’ve put together a guide on how to unlock it just over here!

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Ratchet & ClankGuides