23 Sep 2021 11:11 AM +00:00

Donkey Kong Switch: Leaks, Rumours, News, And Everything We Know So Far

It's been several years since we last saw an original Donkey Kong game. While Switch owners can enjoy Retro Studios' excellent Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze, that first arrived back in 2014 on the Wii U, receiving an enhanced Switch port four years later.

Recently, we've heard reports of a potential new entry arriving on Switch, alongside an appearance at Super Nintendo World. Here's everything we've heard so far about this rumoured entry.

Jump To

Read More: When Is The Next Nintendo Direct?

Latest News

Advertisement

Leaker Suggests Nintendo's Planning A Big Push For Donkey Kong - July 5, 2021

Known leaker Zippo suggests Nintendo's got a game, animation, and more planned for DK, telling is that DK's "being taken seriously at the big N again". You can read more here.

New Donkey Kong Rumour Suggests Crossover With Taiko no Tatsujin - June 8, 2021

According to one Reddit leak, Nintendo's upcoming DK reveal would be a crossover with Taiko no Tatsujin, acting as a spiritual successor to GameCube's Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat. This would allegedly feature new platforming segments, boss battles, motion and standard controls, alongside two new Amiibo.

Donkey Kong Country Concept Art Appears Online For Super Nintendo World - May 27, 2021

It's been suspected for some time that Universal Studios' Super Nintendo World parks would have a Donkey Kong-themed area. After dataminers uncovered evidence within the mobile app, concept art also leaked online.

David Wise Would Be "Delighted" To Compose For Another Donkey Kong Country Game - August 5, 2020

Having composed soundtracks for numerous Donkey Kong games during his time at Rare, David Wise told comicbook.com he'd be "delighted" to return for a new entry if asked, most recently working on Tropical Freeze.

Advertisement

Rumours

Rumours Suggest New Donkey Kong Game Is In Development With Super Mario Odyssey's Team - May 12, 2021

Rumours have recently surfaced that Nintendo EPD are working on a new Donkey Kong game, having moved on from Super Mario Odyssey. Allegedly, this will be revealed at E3 2021, and you can read more here.

Are Other Donkey Kong Games On Switch?

Yes, most prominently Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze's Switch port. Otherwise, you've got six NES/SNES entries available if you subscribe to Nintendo Switch Online, which are:

  • Donkey Kong
  • Donkey Kong Jr.
  • Donkey Kong 3
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy's Kong Quest
  • Donkey Kong Country 3: Dixie Kong's Double Trouble!
Advertisement

When Does Nintendo Direct Start?

The latest Nintendo Direct airs on September 23rd, 2021, starting at 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm BST / Midnight CEST.. You can watch it below.