Ni No Kuni: Cross Worlds tier list - Best familiars for September 2022

September 23, 2022: A new familiar has landed!

Welcome to the mysterious world of Ni No Kuni. Following on from previous titles, Cross Worlds sees you party up once again to save the kingdom, collecting familiars along the way. To help, we've pieced together an early Ni No Kuni: Cross Worlds tier list to rank the best of the best.

These friendly and helpful creatures can be used in many ways - to complete expeditions, to heal, to buff, and to fight alongside you. They can be tamed by giving them gifts, and the more they like them, the stronger your bond will grow. Familiars have different personalities too, like the helpful and loyal Penguicorn, or the shy Disbeleaf that hides away.

While we prepare for the Ni No Kuni: Cross Worlds launch, check out our Mounts page, and codes to get any freebies going! We also recommend the classic Genshin Impact, or recently released Dislyte, too.

Ni No Kuni: Cross Worlds tier list - Best familiars for September 2022

Petal, Hippocampus
Oroboros, Mite, Sparkee, Suiryu, Hog-Goblin, Dinoceros, Squibby
Thumbelemur, Splisher, Molten Lion, Stagthorn, Penguicorn, Shrimpaler, Crab-O-Lantern, Rimu
Crowhawk, Draggle, Flutterby, Bunnybot, Arachnes, Ebon Taurex, Byrde
Naja, Rambunctus, Whambat, Worker Bumbler, Petromaton, Prince Of Whales, Disbeleaf, Hooray
Pipsqueak, Stitcher, Jabber, Sillymander, Taurex, Ruff, Bonehead, Mandragorer, Shellraiser

As the game is not currently available worldwide, only a few have got access in the community, including a few streamers.

The only ranked Familiars so far are the four-star Familiars that will be available worldwide, and at the start of everyone’s game. After launch, we will update with more Familiars as players (us included) progress.

click to enlarge

Ni No Kuni: Cross Worlds familiar types

Within Cross Worlds, there are five different elements that both Familiars and weapons can have attributed to them. These are Darkness, Light, Wood, Fire, and Water. This is slightly different to the previous games; Wrath of the White Witch had Storm, and The Revenant Kingdom had Wind instead of the Earth element.

The strengths are as follows:

  • Fire > Wood
  • Wood > Water
  • Water > Fire
  • Light >< Darkness

How to get Ni No Kuni: Cross Worlds familiars

Thankfully, there are loads of ways to get yourself a part of these funky Familiars. Given that Cross Worlds is using a gacha system, that's the most obvious place you’ll be able to get them from. There will be a standard banner, as well as themed banners with higher rates for certain Familiars from time to time.

You’ll get some Familiars during the story. For instance Mite, a strong, fire-type Familiar, will be earned by following story events. Familiars can also be bred by using materials.

This is likely to be unlocked after a few levels are passed. Lastly, there are bright blue butterflies on the overworld - these show where Familiars are! You can interact with them, and feed them to tame them.

And that's about all there is to say on the matter of the launch Ni No Kuni: Cross Worlds tier list for now. The game is huge, so it'll take us some time to grade each and every one of them. Until then, though, our Ni No Kuni Classes guide can get you started on the right foot.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Ni no Kuni: Cross Worlds, OMG Guides, and Only Mobile Gaming pages.