League of Legends: How To Unlock Champion Mastery

League of Legends is one of gaming's most competitive titles, and Mastery gives a great way to show off your affinity with one of the game's many Champions.

Unlocking Mastery allows for bonus rewards, but how do you unlock the Mastery system? We've got you covered.

Read More: League of Legends 11.17 Early Patch Notes

League of Legends: How To Unlock Champion Mastery

The first thing you'll need to do is hit Summoner level 5 through playing PvP matches in matchmaking.

Once that's done, you'll kick off on Mastery Level 1 with all champions, and can begin accruing CP (Champion Points). These will level your Mastery Level, and you'll earn more based on your performance in a match, as well as whether you win or not.

After matches, you'll be graded on the following scale:

S+, S, S-, A+, A, A-, B+, B, B-, C+, C, C-, D+, D, D-

You'll also earn a bonus of up to 10% CP when playing in a pre-made party. So playing with friends, and playing well, will help you earn CP.

Champion Mastery Levels

Each level has its own CP requirement.

  • Level 2 - 1800 CP
  • Level 3 - 4200 CP
  • Level 4 - 6600 CP
  • Level 5 - 9000 CP

There are two further levels, levels six and seven, but there are not earned through CP.

Playing Summoner's Rift matches and earning an S Grade (including S+ and S-) will earn a Mastery Token which is used to level up.

League of Legends: What Is Champion Mastery?

Here's how Riot describes it on the developer's support page:

The mastery system is designed to recognize a player’s respective investment in a champion and uses skill-based progression to measure advancement. When a player wins a game, they’ll earn CP (champion points) toward mastery levels for that champion, and get rewards along the way. The amount of CP earned is heavily weighted by team performance.
This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

League of LegendsGuides