Diablo 4 Renown guide - What is it?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
Artwork of Lilith in Diablo 4.

Today we will talk about the Diablo 4 Renown mechanic. There is a staple in current role-playing games that involves the people you encounter in-game, and the whole game itself, to recognise your merits. We are talking, of course, about Renown systems.

The Renown System is a great mechanic that increases the integration and immersion in an already custom experience that is an RPG game. In the case of Diablo 4, the whole system will indeed incentivise your exploration and completion of the different quests and missions available. Moreover, it will also reward you in an escalated way.

Diablo 4 Renown guide

While traversing through the different regions in the game, you will find quite a decent amount of activities that have a huge range in terms of your objectives. These will all count towards your Renown, by gathering Points that then will be used to claim Renown Challenge Rewards. These can be divided into five different levels. The higher the level, the better the reward, but the more Points are needed to unlock it:

  • Level 1 - 200 Renown Points
  • Level 2 - 500 Renown Points
  • Level 3 - 800 Renown Points
  • Level 4 - 1,110 Renown Points
  • Level 5 - 1,500 Renown Points
Female necromancer from Diablo 4.
click to enlarge
Credit: Blizzard Entertainment

How to get Renown Points in Diablo 4

Like said above, to get Renown Points in Diablo 4, you will have to complete several activities and quests around all of Sanctuary's regions. These can vary in what you must do, going from discovering secret areas and regions, all the way to destroying Strongholds and enemy types. Here is a list of activities you will be able to perform to collect Renown Points:

  • Clearing out Enemy Strongholds
  • Completing Side-quests
  • Completing Side Dungeon Activities
  • Discovering Hidden Areas
  • Interacting with the Altars of Lilith
  • Unlocking Waypoints

How to claim Renown Rewards in Diablo 4

Once you have collected enough Renown Points by you completing the many different activities in the game, you will be able to collect your Renown Rewards. These will be Experience Points, Skill Points, Gold, among other many rewards.


Once you have collected the according Renown Level objective, visit the Main Menu and click on the Claim Rewards option. You will now see all the available rewards you can collect. Simply click on the red button that says Claim and you will get all your rewards.

You will also get the chance to see and monitor the remaining Points you have to collect to unlock a certain reward, so you can be strategic while collecting and farming your Renown Points in Diablo 4.

Now that you have a better understanding of how the Renown System works thanks to our Diablo 4 Renown guide, be sure to explore and complete every single quest you will be met with along your travels!

For more on the game, be sure to check out our Diablo 4 review. If you are struggling with the game, be sure to follow these Diablo 4 beginner tips.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Guides and Diablo 4 page.