19 Jul 2021 6:46 PM +00:00

Avowed: Everything We Know About Obsidian's Next RPG

Obsidian Entertainment has announced its newest RPG, Avowed. The dark fantasy epic looks to capture what makes Obsidian games so special and is coming to the Xbox Series X.

Fans of the best Fallout game (New Vegas) and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II will be grateful that the studio behind the classics is turning its hand to a familiar genre.

Could Avowed be the next big Western RPG franchise? It's already got an extensive lore-base to build from since it's set in the Pillars of Eternity franchise.

Jump To

Latest News

E3 2021 COUNTDOWN - June 13

In a new Xbox Wire post, Microsoft announced their E3 show wouldn't be streaming in 4K, instead advising their E3 stream will be in 1080p at 60fps. Despite this, a 4K reupload will be available on the Xbox YouTube channel after the stream concludes.

More importantly, Microsoft outlined a new measure designed to protect streamers for the upcoming show. Microsoft has acquired re-transmission rights to any licensed music featured, meaning streamers shouldn't receive any DMCA takedowns. However, they admit this won't guarantee protection from incorrect claims.

In collaboration with Bethesda, the event runs for about 90 minutes and is packed with new games, world premieres, and more.

Tune on June 13 at the following times depending on your region:

  • 10 AM PT USA
  • 12PM Mexico City
  • 1 PM2 PM6 PM6 PM ET USA
  • 2PM Brasilia
  • 6PM UK
  • 6PM Lagos
  • 7 PM Western Europe
  • 8 PM Moscow
  • 9 PM Abu Dhabi
  • 10:30 PM Mumbai
Advertisement

& June 14 at the following times

  • 1 AM Beijing
  • 2 AM Japan
  • 3 AM Sydney

Avowed Coming To Game Pass? - 11th June

Advertisement

It seems a safe bet we'll see Avowed on Game Pass at launch, with this week Xbox proudly boasting of the service's potential and how they'll be handling exclusives in the future.

“With more than 23 studios worldwide creating games for Xbox, our goal is to release at least one new, first-party game into Game Pass every quarter,” Microsoft said in a post on Xbox Wire.

“Role-playing games, shooters, strategy titles, adventure games, and more are all being built by our first party teams to ensure that there is a steady stream of compelling exclusive content to explore.”

Avowed Could Be At E3 - 8th June

According to WindowsCentral, the game could appear at E3 2021.

I've been told conflicting information about the possibility of Avowed being at the show, which is Obsidian's first-person RPG set in the Pillars of Eternity universe, making me think there's a 50/50 chance we could see something on it.

COVID Has Affected Development - 20th May

Matt Booty has suggested that original titles have been affected more by COVID than upcoming sequels in a new interview.

Find out more here.

Advertisement

Release Date

There is no official news on a release date at the moment, but it seems unlikely to be soon.

Industry insider Sponger has revealed Avowed has a planned release date of late 2022 to early 2023.

However, as with any insider information, this is subject to change and could be incorrect.

We imagine Avowed still has a substantial amount of time in development before its release, but we'll keep you updated with any news on that front.

Price

We expect Avowed to cost around £60, but it will also be available for free on Xbox Game Pass.

Game Pass costs £10 a month, but you can find many new subscriber deals to get it even cheaper.

Trailer

Check out the trailer here:

Advertisement

Platforms

Avowed will be available on Xbox Series X, Xbox One, and Xbox Game Pass - and you'll be able to play on PC using the latter.

What To Expect

Obsidian is a studio known for its worldbuilding and unique RPGs. Expect a great story, probably an open world, and some fairly decent graphics.

Advertisement

Avowed could well be the next cult classic RPG from the studio, embracing fantasy realms to bring us castles, magic, and the undead.

One report even suggests that Avowed's world will be larger than that of Skyrim.

The World of Eora

Avowed takes place in the world of Eora, the same world that the Pillars of Eternity series takes place.

Rumors took from imagery in the trailer place the game on the continent of Aedyr, though there are also rumors it may take place in The Living Lands.

There is no word on when Eora's timeline Avowed occurs, but the sword Oathbinder from the trailer makes some believe the game is a prequel to the Pillars games.

*Gfinity Esports may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.