26 Jul 2021 3:55 PM +00:00

When Does Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 8 Start?

Season 7 of Fortnite saw an Alien Invasion sweep the island.

Season 8 is obviously the next step for the Battle Royale title, but it's going to be a while before we see it and find out what's happening in the wider story.

Chapter 2 continues to evolve the story within the Fortnite universe and mixes up the game mechanics massively in a positive way.

But every season must come to a close and make way for what's next - so when will that be?

Here's when you can expect Season 8 to start in Fortnite.

When Does Fortnite Season 8 Start?

Season 8 of Fortnite begins on the September 13th 2021. The current season ends on September 12th, along with the battle pass. So it's only natural that the next season will begin from the very next day the battle pass ends.

Advertisement

You can expect the update to be pushed out during the early hours of the morning, usually taking a few hours.

You can download the update whilst the servers are down for maintenance but you will not be able to get back online until it has finished.

Here's when you can expect the new season to go live (maintenance finish):

  • UK - 6AM (BST)
  • Europe - 7AM (CET)
  • East Coast US - 1AM (EST)
  • West Coast US - 10PM (PST)

Server downtime will tentatively begin at 6 AM UTC/7AM BST

Given that this is going to be a brand new season, the patch will be slightly on the heavier side, so make sure you don't have any other downloads running.

All of the information in this piece is speculation at this point of time. That being said, we'll keep updating this piece as and when we have more information.

Read more: What to expect in Fortnite Season 8?