Destiny 2 Season of the Chosen Power Cap: Soft, Hard and Pinnacle Numbers

Destiny 2's next era kicks off next week. with Season of the Chosen landing on PC, PS4, Xbox One and Google Stadia on February 9.

As longtime players will know, that means that the Power Cap is about to increase, with a new seasonal artefact arriving, too.

Here's everything you need to know about the Soft, Hard and Pinnacle caps for Beyond Light.

Read More: Destiny 2 Season of the Chosen LEAKS: Release Date, Armor, Roadmap, Trailer, Weapons, Season Pass, Exotics, Quests And Everything We Know About Season 13

Destiny 2 Season of the Chosen Power Caps

Because your Power Level is essentially made up of an average score for all of your equipped gear, you'll have to rely on RNG to ensure you level each slot of your armour and weapons up, but Destiny 2 has made big strides in preventing too much frustration in those instances.

Check out our full Power Level guide for more.

So, what are the caps? Going into the new season, these are all we know, although we expect a bump of some sorts to accommodate for new activities.

  • Soft Cap – 1250 Power Level
  • Hard Cap – 1300 Power Level
  • Pinnacle Cap – 1310 Power Level

As a refresher, the soft cap will be the easiest one to hit. Doing so only requires Blue (Rare) and Purple (Legendary) gear, and you can fly through it essentially just by beating the Beyond Light campaign or playing activities like Strikes, Crucible or Gambit.

Then there are Lost Sectors and Heroic Public Events, as well as Crucible matches, that'll mean you're likely to hit 1200 Power pretty smoothly.

That's where things get a little tougher, as your progress from the Soft cap of 1200 to 1250 (the Hard cap) is likely to be much slower.

You'll essentially need to complete Powerful and Pinnacle activities, shown on your in-game Director. So, playing a number of Strikes or Crucible matches each week will help, as will collecting Prime Engrams on your travels.

You'll also want to try and maximise other characters you may have to enable you to grab each weekly reward three times.

Once you're at the Hard Cap, the final ten power levels are undeniably a grind. You'll essentially need to complete high-level content like Trials of Osiris to get to the top of the pile.

Your seasonal artefact will also add up to 15 Power Levels. These are earned by accruing XP to level it up. This will help you attempt Legend Lost Sectors that have a power requirement of 1280, for example.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!