14 May 2021 1:33 PM +00:00

How to get Pips in Dead by Daylight

+ 2
Jump To

It doesn't matter if you're a beginner or a grizzled veteran, Dead by Daylight players still don't know how to get Pips - and we don't just mean 'get' in the physical sense, either.


The Pip System was introduced later on in Dead by Daylight's life cycle, and yet it's still rather confusing for those who don't read up on the game. And that's fine, but the game itself doesn't explain how to get Pips either. But don't worry, that's where we come in.

Read more: How to get Bloodpoints Fast in Dead by Daylight

What are Pips in Dead by Daylight?

Despite not really being a competitive game in the same vein as Overwatch or League of Legends, Dead by Daylight does its best to give you the incentive to do well through the earning of Pips after each trial.

Pips work as 'dashes' that appear after the end of each trial. You'll be shown your Player Level and then your Online Ranking, which we explained more about in our Rank Reset guide. As you can see below, you can see that if you fail to meet the Black Pip - also known as the Safety Pip - then you will lose a Pip.

Your online rank, if you get below the Black Pip then you'll De-Pip
click to enlarge
+ 2
Your online rank, if you get below the Black Pip then you'll De-Pip

Players can earn Pips through performing well in-game, either as a Survivor or a Killer.


How Pips work in Dead by Daylight

To understand how to get Pips, you need to first understand the relationship between Pips, Emblems and Rank.

First, let us explain Pips in relation to Rank. Rank is different from your Player Level, and player Ranks go up and down depending on the number of Pips that you have connected to your Rank.

Below is a quick list of how many Pips are required to Rank up in Dead by Daylight. It should be noted that the lower the Rank, the higher amount of skill displayed by the player. In theory, anyway.

- Rank 20-19: 3 Pips

- Rank 18-13: 4 Pips

- Ranks 12-2: 5 Pips

- Rank 1: 0 Pips

You're unable to Rank down further from Rank 20, and when you're Rank 1 you're unable to Rank up and any loss of points will take you to Rank 2 with 4 Pips.


How to get Pips in Dead by Daylight

To get Pips in Dead by Daylight, you'll need to earn so many points throughout the trial. You can often do well how you do by looking at the Emblems that you receive after each trial. Survivors and Killers each have four Emblems, but are different due to their unique roles.

There are four rarity of Emblems in-game. Iridescent, Gold, Silver, and Bronze. Iridescent is the highest Emblem you can receive for each level of category as a Survivor or Killer.

click to enlarge
+ 2

Survivor Emblems


- Lightbringer: For your generator repair progress throughout the trial, as well as others who repair generators while you're in a chase. Cleansing Hex and Dull totems also give you points in this category.

- Unbroken: The amount of time you're alive in a trial, aka it represents your ability to survive. Escaping without being downed once will give you the Iridescent Emblem, whereas dying will give you a Silver Emblem at the highest.

- Benevolent: Represents how altruistic you are towards your team. This can mean safely unhooking a teammate, as well as healing them to full health and taking hits for injured Survivors.

- Evader: Used show your ability at escaping the Killer, or winning chases against them. To win you must evade them without being hit. You can earn points in this category by being near the Killer, but not being detected.

Killer Emblems

- Gatekeeper: You gain points via this Emblem depending on how long you keep generators from progressing. For the first nine minutes of the trial points are gained depending on the amount of incomplete generators left on the map. Exit Gates being closed gives extra points.

- Devout: Your ability to sacrifice Survivors to the Entity. Each Survivor that is eliminated from the game via Mori or sacrifice will give the Killer points. No points are given if the Survivor bleeds out.

- Malicious: This represents the Killer's ability to stop the Survivors from helping one another, aka applying pressure to prevent them from healing. This can be done via hurting, interrupting or putting Survivors into the dying state. You lose points if Survivors heal.

- Chaser: Exactly what it says on the tin. It represents your ability to find and chase Survivors. If you win the chase and capture Survivors, then you will earn higher points.

To earn pips, you'll need to get a high-amount of points in these four categories. If you do bad in one, you may not earn a Pip or even worse, De-Pip. So be aware of these Emblems, what they mean, and their relationship to earning Pips in Dead by Daylight.

Increase Your Storage

WD_BLACK P10 2TB Game Drive

Amazon (UK) £89.99
24% off £69.99
Upgrade Your Setup

LG Electronics 27GN850 27 Inch Gaming Monitor

Amazon (UK) £399.99
Amazon (US) $439.00
Enhance Your Immersion

Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming RGB Headset

Amazon (UK) £159.99
22% off £124.00
Amazon (US) $109.00
*Gfinity Esports may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.