Dead by Daylight rank reset - Rewards system, reset times, and more

A survivor and killer facing off in Dead by Daylight.

A survivor and killer facing off in Dead by Daylight.
June 13 - It's Friday the 13th, meaning it's time for the Dead by Daylight rank reset.

The game only introduced Rank Rewards in early 2022, but ranks and the Dead by Daylight rank reset have been around since the 1.5.3 patch. However, as of patch 5.20, ranks and rank reset have been replaced after five years, with grade and grade reset.

For those players out there who were only just getting used to ranks - despite Dead by Daylight not being at all competitive in the same way as games like Overwatch 2 and Apex Legends - this new change from ranks to grades can be confusing, especially if you’ve not played the game for a while. Thankfully, we’ve got just the guide for you.

For more on the game, check out our Dead by Daylight tier list to learn about the best killers. We've also got a list of active Dead by Daylight codes, alongside a ranking of the best killer perks.

What is grade rank in Dead by Daylight?

Grade was introduced in patch 5.20 and, for the most part, works in a very similar way to Ranks. Like Ranks, you earn Grade by obtaining pips throughout each match until you reach a certain amount, which will thus improve your Grade. Earning pips is simple enough, too, so you won’t have to relearn anything about how to improve your gameplay, overall.

Nonetheless, unlike previously where if you played a bad game you’d lose pips and go down a rank (say Red Rank to Purple Rank, Yellow to Brown), you’ll never move down a Grade. Yes, the only way to go in Dead by Daylight from now on is up. According to Dead by Daylight themselves, this helps with balancing matches - so you won’t be going against a higher Grade Killer when you’re a lower Grade Survivor. In theory.

While Rank may have changed, the Reset period - which always happens on the 13th of each month - has not changed. Instead of Rank Reset, it is now Grade Reset and unlike Rank, will take players back to the lowest Grade each time. This means that if players want to get to the highest Grade, they’ll need to put in the hours.

Sometimes Grade Reset will be postponed due to bugs, but this rarely happens and the official Dead by Daylight social media will post if that's the case.

What do Grades mean in Dead by Daylight?

For players who haven’t played the game before, or for those who have and aren’t too sure what Grades are or what they mean then don’t worry - we’ve got the new Grades names (and what they would be if Dead by Daylight still used Ranks) lined up for you.

It should be noted that you can see the name of the Grade if you hover over the emblem at the top right. Either way, though, here are the new Grade names (on the left) and what they were previously (on the right).

  • Ash IV – Rank 20
  • Ash III – Rank 19
  • Ash II – Rank 18
  • Ash I – Rank 17
  • Bronze IV – Rank 16
  • Bronze III – Rank 15
  • Bronze II – Rank 14
  • Bronze I – Rank 13
  • Silver IV – Rank 12
  • Silver III – Rank 11
  • Silver II – Rank 10
  • Silver I – Rank 9
  • Gold IV – Rank 8
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!
  • Gold III – Rank 7
  • Gold II – Rank 6
  • Gold I – Rank 5
  • Iridescent IV – Rank 4
  • Iridescent III – Rank 3
  • Iridescent – II – Rank 2
  • Iridescent I – Rank 1

Dead by Daylight grade reset - What are grade rewards?

Every single month, on the 13th, players will have their individual Killer and Survivor rank reset. With each reset, players will also get Grade Rewards depending on which Grade they scored, overall.

The Grade Rewards work like so:

Grade 1
Grade 2
Grade 3
Grade 4

Because Killer and Survivor Grades are separate, players can earn up to 2,000,000 Bloodpoints depending on what Grade Survivor and Killer they are.

But there you have it, that's it for our look at the Dead by Daylight rank reset! For more on the game, check out the best Wraith build, as well as our full Dead By Daylight guides hub.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Dead by DaylightGuides
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!