Report: Call of Duty League Majors to Feature 12 Teams

With a few weeks until the 2022 Call of Duty League (CDL) season gets underway, a report from Dot Esports has revealed that the league's four Major tournaments will now feature all 12 franchises. The news was met with a wealth of positivity from the competitive scene, which continues to express its frustrations with the current state of Vanguard as the start of Season 1 Reloaded nears.

The change comes less than a month after the CDL unveiled the format for the 2022 season, which revealed that four of the 12 franchises will host a Major tournament during the year with eight teams getting the chance to compete.

Read More: NaDeSHoT and Other Pros Rip Into Activision’s Neglect of Call of Duty

CDL 2022 Major Format Change

Call of Duty League 2022 Major Format Change
expand image

The original format intended on having eight teams competing at a Major, with four teams missing out on the action. The report stated that this was an issue for many franchise owners who believed that the format "lacked competitive integrity." With just a few weeks until the start of the season, New York Subliners player and three-time world champion Ian "Crimsix" Porter revealed that there may not be a third game mode in competitive Vanguard due to fundamental flaws with Control. This may be the case as the third Challengers cup will only feature Hardpoint and Search & Destroy for competition.

Call of Duty League 2022 Start Date

The third season of CDL action is set to commence on January 21st with the Kickoff Classic taking place at the Esports Stadium Arlington. Regular season matches will get underway from February 4th as teams begin earning CDL Points that will be used for seeding ahead of the first Major of the season hosted by OpTic Texas.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Call of Duty: VanguardEsports