Assassin's Creed Dawn of Ragnarok: How to Start the DLC

Assassin's Creed Valhalla took the series into the Viking era when it launched back in 2020. Since then, several expansions have been released, adding new areas, challenges and in-game seasonal events. Dawn of Ragnarok is the largest expansion so far, adding in around 30 hours of content, and giving players another chance to live through Havi's story.

There's a whole new map to explore in Dawn of Ragnarok, filled with outposts to raid and treasures to find. Havi is after a villain named Surtr, who has kidnapped his son. In his quest to take down Surtr and prevent Ragnarok, Havi will enlist the help of the dwarves, using their hideouts as bases to strike from.

Given that Dawn of Ragnarok is a late-game activity, you may be wondering how to start it. In this guide we'll explain the recommended level requirement to start the DLC, and how to get into the mission. Whether you are a brand new player or a series veteran, there are options that will allow you to play. Let's take a look.

How to Start Dawn of Ragnarok DLC

There are essentially three different scenarios for starting the Dawn of Ragnarok DLC: new players, existing players below 340 power level, and existing players above 340 power level. We'll go into detail on each below:

How Long to Beat: How Long Is Dawn of Ragnarok?

New Players

New players can jump right into Dawn of Ragnarok without playing any of Valhalla. Just select 'New Game' and then 'Dawn of Ragnarok'. This will allow you to play through the DLC separately, boosting your character up to the 340 power level automatically.

expand image

Existing Players (Under 340 Power Level)

If you played Valhalla, but did not reach power level 340, there's an option when loading back into your main save. You will be given the option to accept a power boost item. Do so, and your character will reach 340, allowing you to start the Dawn of Ragnarok DLC. Note that by accepting the boost you will be loaned the following, which will not be carried into the rest of your main save.

  • Power level 340
  • A Gear set of Mythical quality
  • A set of level 2 Abilities.

These items are only on loan, so when you have completed the DLC, they will be taken away from your character. All XP and Skill Points, as well as everything you loot will be kept.

Existing Players (Above 340 Power Level)

If you have already reached power level 340, you just need to load up your main save in Assassin's Creed Valhalla. You will be given a quest called 'Restless Dreams' back at Ravensthorpe. As long as you have unlocked Valka's Hut and have your settlement at level 3, you can start the quest and the Dawn of Ragnarok DLC.

That's how to start the Assassin's Creed Dawn of Ragnarok DLC. For more on the game be sure to check out our full review. Elsewhere there's our guide on playing as Female Havi.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Assassin's Creed ValhallaGuides
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!