Monster Hunter Rise Beginner's Guide: How To Lock On, Mount, Monster List, Weapons and More

Monster Hunter Rise sees the long-running franchise make its proper debut on Switch following Monster Hunter Generations Ultimate – a port of the 3DS title.

If you've not played any games in the franchise before and don't know what to expect, then this guide is for you.

As we get closer to the game's full release, we'll have plenty more Monster Hunter content, so be sure to check back. For now, though, here's a handy list of what you'll find on this page.

READ MORE: Monster Hunter Rise: Release Date, Trailer, Pre-Order Bonuses, Nintendo Switch, Gameplay And Everything We Know

Monster Hunter Rise Beginner's Guide

What is Monster Hunter Rise?

Monster Hunter Rise is Capcom's latest instalment, coming exclusively to Nintendo Switch (although apparently launching on PC in the future).

The core concept of Monster Hunter titles is to (as the name suggests) hunt and kill monsters of all shapes and sizes. Slay a beast, carve it up, and use its parts to make new armour to then go and battle bigger beasts.

That may sound reductive, but it's a compelling loop. Not only do players get to wield all sorts of fantastical weapons, but as they grow in strength, hunters will learn skills required to take down tougher adversaries.

Gameplay Tips

Choosing A Weapon Type

Weapons in Monster Hunter Rise fall into 14 different categories – 11 bladed weapons and three gunner weapons.

Experimentation is the best way to find a setup that works for you. While the Insect Glaive allows for incredible acrobatics, for example, it deals significantly less damage than the Great Sword, for example.

The available weapons are listed below:

  • Great Sword
  • Long Sword
  • Sword and Shield
  • Dual Blades
  • Hammer
  • Hunting Horn
  • Lance
  • Gunlance
  • Switch Axe
  • Charge Blade
  • Insect Glaive
  • Light Bowgun
  • Heavy Bowgun
  • Bow

How to lock-on

One of the first skills to learn in Monster Hunter Rise is how to lock-on to enemies.

While Monster Hunter: World added a more robust lock-on mechanism, Rise falls somewhere between that and older games in the franchise.

Players can lock the camera to an enemy, but won't be able to auto-target. Click the right stick on your Nintendo Switch controller, and cycle between targets with the 'L' bumper.

As for attack positioning and dodging, that's down to you.

How to Dodge

Sure, your massive weapons hit hard, but the monsters you'll be hunting hit much harder.

With that in mind, dodging is essential. Luckily, it's easy to do – just use "B" and the direction of the left stick to evade in that direction.

Timing your dodges and counter-attacks is a key pillar of Monster Hunter, and Rise is no different. You may need to battle a monster more than once to learn its attack patterns.

How to mount your Palamute

New to Rise are Palamutes – adorable four-legged companions that not only allow you to cover ground more quickly, but also with their own attacks.

Simply stand near your Palamute and hold "A" to hop on. You can jump with ZR, dash with R, and even drift with ZL while dashing.

Spend some time getting used to your Palamute's controls, as they can be a literal lifesaver when a monster is bearing down on you.

How many monsters are there to hunt?

At the time of writing, there are a total of 41 monsters that we know of so far.

Some are smaller ones that can appear in packs, while the "Large" monsters are the ones that form the bulk of your hunts. Check out the full list below:

Small Monsters:
  • Altaroth
  • Anteka
  • Baggi
  • Bnahabra
  • Bombagy
  • Bullfango
  • Felyne
  • Gajau
  • Gargwa
  • Izuchi
  • Jagras
  • Kelbi
  • Melynx
  • Popo
  • Remobra
  • Slagtoth
  • Wroggi
Large Monsters
  • Aknosom
  • Anjanath
  • Arzuros
  • Barioth
  • Bishaten
  • Goss Harag
  • Great Baggi
  • Great Izuchi
  • Great Wroggi
  • Jyuratodus
  • Khezu
  • Kulu-Ya-Ku
  • Lagombi
  • Magnamalo
  • Mizutsune
  • Pukei-Pukei
  • Rathalos
  • Rathian
  • Royal Ludroth
  • Somnacanth
  • Tetranadon
  • Tigrex
  • Tobi-Kadachi
  • Yatsukadaki

While that number is significantly less than Monster Hunter Generations Ultimate's whopping 129 monsters, it's worth remembering that the monsters in Rise are much more detailed and nuanced, thanks to the game being built for Switch.

How many players can play together?

Monster Hunter Rise can be played entirely solo, but it's much more fun with friends.

To that end, you can play in local or online co-op with up to three friends. If you've never embarked on a hunt with a full team before, you're in for a treat.

How does Monster Hunter Rise compare to Monster Hunter World?

Monster Hunter World acted as a gateway to the franchise for many thanks to its release on home consoles (for years the series was focused on handhelds).

While Monster Hunter World is by no means an easy game (particularly when factoring in some of the Iceborne expansion's trickier monsters), it made some smart choices to streamline the action.

We're pleased to report, then, that Monster Hunter Rise picks up where its bigger brother leaves off.

Players can consume items while moving, whetstones are not consumed after use, among others. In short, if you loved Monster Hunter World, you'll find plenty to enjoy in Rise.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Monster Hunter RiseGaming News
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!