How to change World Tier in Diablo 4 season 1

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
How to change World Tier in Diablo 4
Credit: Activision Blizzard
July 20, 2023 - With season 1 finally here, we have checked over our information.

Raising the difficulty is key to becoming stronger in Diablo 4, and that can be done through World Tiers. The game has a few tiers to choose from, though players may be wondering how to change World Tier in Diablo 4.

Players are able to change the World Tier at almost any time in and out of the game. There is no penalty to changing to a lower difficulty level, but the rewards are much greater when the game is harder. Here is how to change between World Tiers and what each each one offers.

If you're after more tips on the game, check out our Diablo 4 guides hub.

How to change World Tier in Diablo 4 season 1

There are two methods for how to change the World Tier. The first can be done while currently in a game by visiting a World Tier Statue.

These statues can be found in various places around Sanctuary, but the first statue that players will encounter is in Kyovashad in the Fractured Peaks region. The statue is noted on the map with an icon of a cross within a spiky circle.

A World Tier point in Diablo 4.
click to enlarge
+ 2
Credit: In-game screenshot

Players can change the difficulty within their own games at anytime while at the statue, though it will reset some in-game elements like player-created portals.

The second method to change World Tier is at the main menu before starting or continuing a game. The option is on the right side of the character selection screen.

World Tier differences in Diablo 4 season 1

There are four World Tiers that players can choose from in the game, though not all tiers will be available at the start. More difficult tiers will have to be unlocked later after completing certain objectives.

Players will initially have access to World Tier 1: Adventurer and World Tier 2: Veteran. The first tier is meant for newer players to the series, while the second offers more challenging enemies, 20% increased XP, and 15% extra gold.


World Tier 3: Nightmare is recommended for characters that are level 50-70, and can only be unlocked after completing the campaign and the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon in Kyovashad in World Tier 2. Players earn 100% more XP, 15% more gold, monsters have 20% resistance, and Sacred or Unique items can drop.

All of the World Tier options in Diablo 4's menu
click to enlarge
+ 2
Credit: In-game screenshot

World Tier 4: Torment is for level 70+ characters and can be unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon in northeastern Dry Steppes in World Tier 3. It offers 200% more XP, 15% more gold, 40% resistance on monsters, and Ancestral items can drop.

That is everything to know about how to change World Tier in Diablo 4. For more coverage on the game, check out how to get the Wolf Pup and how to create and join a clan.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Guides and Diablo 4 page.