Dragon Ball Z Kakarot: All Confirmed PS4 Sagas In The New Dragon Ball Game

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
Thumbnail for video

Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot has finally come to Dragon Ball fan! This brand new game will revisit the exciting sagas that took place in the Dragon Ball Z anime, exploring many of the anime classic's defining moments.

The popular anime series has had video games made based off of its property for 33 years, selling well over 50 million copies across the franchise.


A new game has emerged, developed by CyberConnect2, to potentially separate it from the rest. Dragon Ball FighterZ was hailed as the game that Dragon Ball fans had always wanted.

Here's what you need to know about the sagas for Dragon Ball Z Kakarot.


Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot Sagas

Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot will likely cover the full list of sagas present in Dragon Ball Z, including:

  • Saiyan Saga
  • Namek and Captain Ginyu Sagas
  • Frieza Saga
  • Garlic Jr., Trunks and Android Sagas
  • Imperfect and Perfect Cell Sagas
  • Cell Games Saga
  • Other World, Great Saiyaman and World Tournament sagas
  • Babidi and Majin Buu Sagas
  • Fusion, Kid Buu and Peaceful World Sagas

So far the following sagas have been confirmed:

  • Saiyan Saga
  • Frieza Saga
  • Cell Games Saga
  • Other World, Great Saiyaman and World Tournament sagas
  • Babidi and Majin Buu Sagas
  • Fusion, Kid Buu and Peaceful World Sagas

Recently the trophies were revealed and there are specific trophies for the Saiyan Saga, Frieza Saga, Cell Saga and Buu Saga.

The extent at which these sagas are explored is unknown at this time, we can only assume the other sagas will be explored as well but may not feature as heavily as the main ones we all love and remember.

Release Date

The game will launch on the 17th of January 2020.


With the game launching on the 17th, if a demo was to arrive, we can hope to see one within a few weeks of launch.

If a demo was to arrive, it will likely arrive on all platforms.



The game will launch on the PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC.

The game is a global launch scheduled for the same day.

As it stands, there are no platform-exclusive sagas present in DBZK.



With so many sagas, we can expect to see plenty of familiar faces returning to the cast.

But who is playable? Here are the playable characters in DBZK:


  • Goku
  • Gohan (Kid, Teen, Adult)
  • Vegeta
  • Piccalo
  • Future Trunks
  • Gotenks
  • Vegito


  • Krillin
  • Tien Shinhan
  • Chiaotzu
  • Yamcha

You can see the full list of characters here.


Season Pass And DLC Release Date

The game will come with a season pass, which will include two-story missions.

It's unclear what these are if, they're covering the majority of the DBZ story in the full game at release, you're likely to be left with the movies; traditionally seen as non-cannon.

With that in mind, there are plenty of choices. The one that makes the most sense is the Broly movie, as it can fit in as a post-game mission; considering how popular the recent movie was, even if it wasn't from DBZ.


That leads us to consider whether the game may opt to use non-DBZ stories? Potentially looking at Dragon Ball Super or GT.


Follow us on Twitter for the latest Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot news. Tweet us if you're excited about this new DBZ game!

Written ByChris Trout@TheTrout91