What are Paragon Levels in Diablo 3?

Diablo 3 Paragon Levels

Diablo 3 Paragon Levels

Diablo 3 narrates the story of the Nephalem, a warrior on a never-ending fight against the forces of the Burning Hell. This game presents you with the challenge of defeating demonic hordes across many places, and to be able to succeed on that you will need to go beyond the limits of your playable character if you want to face higher difficulties. The Paragon system will help you with that.

Diablo 3 Inarius
expand image

What is the Paragon System in Diablo 3?

The Paragon System is unlocked after you reach Level 70 with your first character, and from that point, every character in your game will share its progression. As an alternative progression path, you can level up your Paragon level indefinitely, making it a great way to start new characters, since they will have those bonuses from the start.

The Paragon System affects your entire account offering bonuses in four categories, Core, Offensive, Defensive, and Utility. You can max every attribute out in all the categories, which allows you to not focus so much on "builds" but with your only choice being the priority you want to give to those categories and attributes.

Read More: How to Get Kanai’s Cube In Diablo 3

Diablo 3 Paragon System
expand image

How do Paragon Levels work in Diablo 3?

With the Paragon System, Instead of leveling to 71, you will start getting Paragon Points in one of four categories for your characters. These are the following:


  • You can invest your points to level up your character class's Primary Stat, Vitality, Maximum Resource, and Movement Speed.


  • You can invest your points to level up your attack Speed, Cooldown Reduction, Critical Hit Chance, and Critical Hit Damage.


  • You can invest your points to level up your Armor %, Life %, All Resistances, and Life Regeneration.


  • You can invest your points to level up your Area Damage, Resource Cost Reduction, Life per Hit, and Gold Pickup Range.

The amount and variety of points you gain will cycle between those four categories, and you can't invest a point of a specific category into another one. Each Attribute will have a cap of 50 points except for Vitality and your character's Primary Stat, which can level up indefinitely.

And that’s it! While you’re here, you can check our Diablo 3 Tier List and our Season 25 Release Date guides.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Diablo 3Guides