23 Sep 2021 2:00 AM +00:00

Diablo 2 Resurrected Release Date Countdown: Start Time, Preload Download Sizes & More

After months of waiting Diablo 2 Resurrected is finally here, with the game set to launch later this week having first been announced back in February 2021 during the BlizzCon opening ceremony.

In the months leading up to launch the team has shared plenty of info on the changes they've made to this lovingly-crafted remake of the action RPG originally released back in 2000.

To be more precise Diablo 2 Resurrected is actually a remaster of Diablo 2 (2000) as well as its expansion Lord of Destruction released in 2001. But as you can imagine, the game looks a darn sight better running in up to 4K (2160p) resolution on Windows PC. That said, it's also no slouch on Nintendo Switch, PlayStation [PS4/PS5] and Xbox [One/Series S/Series X] twenty years after it first launched. This is in no small part to the work from the devs at Blizzard and the team at Vicarious Visions.

Advertisement

After a successful early access beta some weeks back, we suspect the full launch will have been worth the wait for fans of the series. At least, more so than when Blizzard released Warcraft 3 Reforged.

If you're keen to dive into the game once again, then read on, we've a full guide to help you with the games launch day. From release dates, to start times, preload download sizes and more.

Jump To

Everything you need to know about the release of Diablo 2 Resurrected can be found, just below.

Latest News

23 September 2021 -

The dev team on Diablo 2 Resurrected has confirmed the launch times for the game. Just like the Open Beta, Diablo 2: Resurrected will launch in all supported regions across all platforms at the same time globally. To identify when your adventure can begin, please refere to the map below. You can also click here for time zone assistance.

Advertisement
Diablo 2 Resurrected
click to enlarge
+ 3

22 September 2021 -

Look we've got time to pass until the start of Diablo 2 Resurrected so why not listen to songs from the Diablo 2: Resurrected soundtrack remixed by Josh Carter of Phantogram and Sueco.

Trust us, it absolutely slaps.

Advertisement

What Is The Diablo 2 Resurrected Release Date?

Blizzard's confirmed Diablo 2 Resurrected release date has been set for 23 September 2021. Although, as you'll see if you keep reading, time zones mean that some players will have access to the game before

Advertisement

What Time Does Diablo 2 Resurrected Start?

Blizzard’s head of the Diablo series, Rod Fergusson, has confirmed on Twitter that the Diablo 2: Resurrected release time is 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST

Blizzard’s head of the Diablo series, Rod Fergusson (formally the head for Gears of War) has confirmed a release start time for the Diablo 2 Resurrected launch on Twitter.

The Diablo 2: Resurrected release time is set for which is set for 23 September at 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST.

Below you can find the potential start times across the world. We say potential because these are based on the confirmed times (indicated in bold) and the past start times from the Diablo 2 Resurrected Open Beta.

[September 22 Update - These start times are now confirmed]

  • Los Angeles - 8am PDT
  • New York - 11am EDT
  • Santos - 12pm BRT
  • London - 4pm BST
  • Paris - 5pm CEST
  • Moscow - 6pm MSK
  • Singapore - 11pm SGT
  • Taipei - 11pm SGT
  • Seoul - 12am KST (September 24, 2021)
  • Tokyo - 12am KST (September 24, 2021)
  • Sydney - 1am AEST (September 24, 2021)
Advertisement

Typically the Diablo account shares a map of release times. We'll be sure to update the above with confirmed start times when the Diablo team has shared this information.

click to enlarge
+ 3

When Can I Preload Diablo 2 Resurrected on Console?

Advertisement

Diablo 2 Resurrected players who have pre-ordered the game can already start pre-loading on console.

This means PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series S, Xbox Series X and Nintendo Switch players can all pre-load the game ahead of launch.

When Can I preload Diablo 2 Resurrected on PC?

If you want to play Diablo 2 Resurrected on PC you'll have to wait (still). Despite the game launching on 24 September, there is still no confirmed pre-load times for PC players. Although we suspect we'll hear something soon in the next 24 hours.

Diablo 2 Resurrected File Sizes

Although the game isn't available to pre-load on PC, we do know how much space you need to play the game.

Diablo 2 Resurrected requires 30GB of storage to play on PC.

Advertisement

On Nintendo Switch, due to its downgraded visuals, players need only 7.7GB of storage space.

Whilst those on console will need 10.017GB on PS4 (and likely Xbox One), whilst next-gen versions 25.526GB require to play on PS5 (and likely Xbox Series X).

Diablo 2 Resurrected PC Specs

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

  • Operating System: Windows® 10
  • Processor: Intel® Core i3-3250/AMD FX-4350
  • Video: Nvidia GTX 660/AMD Radeon HD 7850
  • Memory: 8 GB RAM
  • Storage: 30 GB
  • Internet: Broadband Internet connection
  • Resolution: 1280 x 720
Advertisement

RECOMMENDED SPECIFICATIONS

  • Operating System: Windows® 10
  • Processor: Intel® Core i5-9600k/AMD Ryzen 5 2600
  • Video: Nvidia GTX 1060/AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT
  • Memory: 16 GB RAM
  • Storage: 30 GB
  • Internet: Broadband Internet connection
  • Resolution: 1920 x 1080
Advertisement

Do You Need PS Plus or Xbox Live To Play The Diablo 2 Resurrected?

No. Online play is optional, but you will require Xbox Live or PS Plus to play the game's multiplayer features.

On consoles, PS Plus and Xbox Live is required for online play and supports multiplayer for up to 8 online players.

Diablo 2 Resurrected 8 player co-op
click to enlarge
+ 3
Diablo 2 Resurrected 8 player co-op

Does Diablo 2 Resurrected Have a Pre-Order Bonus?

Advertisement

Players who pre-order the game before release can claim The Heritage of Arreat transmog and the Diablo II-themed Barbarian transmog for Diablo 3.

The transmog will be immediately available in-game in Diablo III upon pre-order.