Women’s International Teams Coming To FIFA 16

Yesterday EA Sports announced that they would be dropping “Big News” today and they weren’t joking..!

With the Women’s World Cup taking place over the summer, the creators of the FIFA franchise have finally decided that it is the appropriate time to introduce female footballers into their game. 


In FIFA 16 there will be 12 International Women’s teams to select from. Germany, USA, France, Sweden, England, Brazil, Canada, Australia, Spain, China, Italy and Mexico will be available to choose from and use in match days, offline tournament and online friendly matches.

However, as stated by EA, “Women's National Teams… (will)… compete exclusively against other Women's National Teams”.

All of the professional female players appear to have had the full FIFA video game treatment, receiving all new in-game animations, 3D player modelling, and life-like head scans, which EA say will make the Women’s National Team “authentically represented in the game.” 

In an interview on FIFA’s website, USA Women’s International Alex Morgan told EA, “It is such an honor for women’s players and our team to be included in FIFA 16. I always wondered what it would be like to see our team in the game and it is very cool to know that it is now a reality.  

For more behind the scene pictures and the Alex Morgan interview in full, head to FIFA’s website here. 

FIFA 16 will be available in September. 

Keep up to date with all the latest gaming and eSports news via our Twitter: @GfinityOnline

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

FIFA 20EsportsGaming News
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!