Morrowind Modder Brings Deathloop to Vvardenfell

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
A promo image for Morrowind.
Credit: Image via Mobygames.

If you’re getting a little tired of Skyrim, the older entries in the Elder Scrolls series can be great changes of pace and also have thriving mod communities.

For example, Morrowind, the third entry in the series, is currently undergoing a month-long modathon, which has brought several new innovations to the 20-year-old game.

Among these is a new mod by Safebox called "Deja Vu", which adds a mechanic inspired by 2021 release Deathloop to the old school RPG.


Morrowind Modder Brings Deathloop to Vvardenfell

So how does it work? Well, first of all, you’ve got 24 in-game hours per loop, at which point you’ll die no matter what point you’re at and a previous save will be loaded.

Naturally, this means that, before you die and are reborn to start a new loop, you’ll want to get as far as you can towards your end goal, which is reaching the game’s traditional ending encounter with the wonderful Dagoth Ur.

The stats, skills and spells you gradually accumulate over each loop will transfer over to the next, but there are a few annoying little catches to reaching your expiration date.

For each new loop, you’ll forfeit all of your items, in addition to your quest progress and journal entries, leaving your character naked, afraid and without a clue what’s going on.

This is designed to provide some extra challenges to your typical Morrowind experience, as Safebox explains: “Speedrunners have gotten the game completion down to about 6 minutes without glitches, and the game is 20 years old now. So I wanted to create a mod that added a ‘new’ form of replayability, without being too restrictive.”

In order to start the mod, you’ll need to install it, begin a fresh playthrough and find an Elder Scroll hidden behind a limeware platter in the census office that you visit immediately following the game’s opening.

So give it a try or, if you’re looking for info on The Elder Scrolls 6, here’s what we know so far.