Diablo Immortal Paragon system - how World Paragon levels work

Image of the Forest of Misery in Diablo Immortal.

Image of the Forest of Misery in Diablo Immortal.

If you plan on reaching the highest levels in Diablo Immortal, you'll have to learn all about the Diablo Immortal Paragon system. It's a returning system that's been tweaked to suit the MMO nature of the game. We're here to explain exactly what it is, and how it may have changed since you last encountered it in the closed alpha.

In this Diablo Immortal guide, we'll run through what the Paragon system is, including how you access it and the rewards gained from each tier. That's on top of explaining exactly how it has changed in recent upgrades, because the final version in the released game is different to what you may have seen before.

What is the Diablo Immortal Paragon system?

The Paragon system is a progression tree that unlocks once you hit the max level in Diablo Immortal. It's in place to try and make sure that players who are more advanced in the progression levels can still play with lower-level friends without carrying them, or being forced into higher skill lobbies.

Introduced in the recent closed beta and certain to be in the full game, the World Paragon system introduces a range of Paragon Trees. These look like normal upgrade trees, which have their own XP boosts and skill upgrades on them.

Crucially though, each lobby in Diablo Immortal has its own independent Paragon Level. If you're individual Paragon Tree progression level is below the lobby's one, you get an XP boost. If it's above the lobby level, you get reduced XP.

This is designed to favour lower-level players, helping them catch up while ensuring more advanced players never get too far ahead. However, though high-rank players still get loot as a reward, just not too much XP.

The Diablo Immortal Paragon system differs from the one in past games.
expand image

What are the Diablo Immortal Paragon changes?

This Paragon Tree system one of the new additions to the franchise with Diablo Immortal. It's designed with lobby balance and social progression in mind, which means you can't expect to race through it as soon as the game launched.

In the original alpha build, there was a system where weekly XP progression was capped. While that was still effective in keeping things balanced, it restricted the experience of high-level players.

In the beta, the Paragon system was also used to limit the amount of loot players received. While this was effective in ensuring top players never got too far ahead, the analysis also found that players ended up not collecting pickups and orbs as a result.

Therefore, the public build of Diablo Immortal doesn't include the Paragon change linked to items based on player feedback.

The only key difference now will be that certain upgrades will require more salvage. That won't limit the amount of salvage you collect via play, but will mean you'll need to play a lot more if you're hoping to breeze on by the world servers to get the top-tier upgrades and skill progression. It moves the goalposts slightly, but doesn't disadvantage elite players.

That's it for our look at the Paragon system in Diablo Immortal! It's not the most straightforward, but it's definitely something that elite players will want to take notice of. Elsewhere, check out our Genshin Impact tier list and AFK Arena tier list for help in two other big mobile games. We've also got a Wild Rift tier list for the League of Legends spin-off.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Diablo ImmortalOnly Mobile GamingOMG Guides