02 Aug 2021 4:40 PM +00:00

Apex Legends Ranked: Season 10 Details Announced

If you think you’re ready to challenge the best Apex players out there in a battle of skill, game knowledge, and straight shooting, then public lobbies might not be doing it for you. For a more competitive experience, however, you can jump into Apex Legends’ ranked mode. 

Climbing the Apex Legends ranks is easier said than done, however, and if you want to become an Apex Predator, you’ll need to put in the hours. But the rewards are great. Entirely cosmetic, of course, but great nonetheless. We've noticed some leaks about rewards for Season 9 that we’ve covered down below, but you’re best off keeping up to date with the latest Apex Legends patch notes for official confirmation.

Apex Legends’ ranked mode follows the same seasons as the regular game, so you’ve got a limited time to make your mark in the battle royale. The highly competitive mode is considered the pinnacle of Apex Legends gameplay – excluding esports like the Apex Legends Global Series, that is – so achieving a high rank is a mark of honour in the community. That said, it can be a little confusing at first, so we’ve broken it down for anyone who’s new to the mode, or if you want to check what’s changed in a new ranked season. We’re still waiting for Apex Legends Arenas’ ranked mode, so this guide just covers the regular, battle royale, ranks.

Here’s everything you need to know about Apex Legends Ranked Season 10:

READ MORE: Everything we know about the next addition to Apex Legends, Seer

Jump To

Apex Legends Ranked Tiers

When you first get started in Apex Legends’ ranked mode, you’ll be placed in Bronze. As you get more kills and win more matches, you’ll earn RP (more on that later). After reaching a certain amount of RP, you’ll progress to the next rank up. It’s pretty simple:

Rank RP needed
BronzeStarting rank
Silver1,200 RP
Gold2,800 RP
Platinum4,800 RP
Diamond7,200 RP
Master10,000 RP
Apex PredatorTop 750 players

It’s worth noting that the rules slightly change when you reach the highest level of play. Once you’ve reached Master rank, you’ll keep gaining RP as usual until you hit the top 750 players of the game. You have achieved the coveted Apex Predator rank. From there, you are ranked by your position in this season’s ranks, from 750 to number one. 

Apex Legends Ranked Rewards for Season 9

There’s more at stake than just pride, however. Every Apex Legends ranked season, players are given rewards based on how they performed. Last season’s rank rewards included some cute weapon charms, badges, and dive trails and it looks like more of the same for Season 9.

Apex Legends ranked Season 9 rewards
click to enlarge
+ 2

Apex Legends Ranked Scoring System (RP)

RP is your most valuable resource when climbing the Apex Legends ranks. To earn RP, you must finish in the top 13 of a ranked match. The higher you place, the more RP you get. However, this is multiplied by the number of kills and assists you get, up to a maximum of six, so make sure you aren’t just ratting your way to a good placement.

Here’s how much RP it costs to jump into a match in Apex Legends Ranked Season 9:

  • Bronze: free
  • Silver: 12RP
  • Gold: 24RP
  • Platinum: 36RP
  • Diamond: 48RP
  • Master: 60RP
  • Apex Predator: 60RP

If you leave a game early, you’ll lost any RP you would have gained, and often also receive a penalty. If you regularly abandon matches, you may also be timed out of playing ranked matches. 

Apex Legends Ranked Loss Forgiveness

However, if you have connection issues or you otherwise accidentally disconnect from an Apex Legends ranked match, there is a loss forgiveness system in place to aid your plight.

Loss forgiveness comes into play if your teammates quit out on you, or if something messes up on Respawn’s end and you spawn into a match without any teammates. However, there are some other rules if your internet goes down or your game crashes.

The first time this happens a season, you’ll automatically get loss forgiveness applied, no questions asked. However, any further times this happens Respawn will check what happened to see whether the abandonment looks suspicious. If it looks accidental, you’ll be granted another forgiveness – however you can only get the benefit of the doubt three times a season. After that, Respawn will consider it a suspicious abandon, and penalise you. 

This season, however, you can reconnect to matches that you crash out of, or if your internet goes down. If your character is somewhere safe, and your teammates are around to protect them, then you might be able to jump back into your ranked match with no RP loss whatsoever.

Bloodhound lets their raven loose on the snowy hills of World's Edge.
click to enlarge
+ 2

Apex Legends Ranked Season 10 Split


The mid-season Apex Legends Ranked Season 10 split, reset, and map change is on September 21.

Apex Legends Ranked Seasons are divided into two splits. In Ranked Season 10, the first split will be played on World's Edge, and the second split will be back in Kings Canyon.

Apex Legends Rank Reset

At the start of a new season, and when the ranked split changes mid-season, everyone’s rank is reset by one and a half tiers. So if you ended the first split in Platinum II, you would start the new split in Gold IV. 

So don't worry if you've suddenly dropped far below where you climbed in the first ranked split - it was meant to happen, and you just have to get back on the grind.

Apex Legends Ranked Season 10

Apex Legends ranked Season 10 will begin on August 3, along with Apex Legends Season 10. We’ll keep you up to date with any official announcements of this, however, or you can check our handy guide.

Players are keeping their fingers crossed that Ranked Season 10 also fixes some of the issues with cheaters and DDOSers that are rampant in the current game. However, we haven't heard anything on the subject yet from Respawn.

That’s everything you need to know about Apex Legends ranked mode! Now all that’s left to do is pick your favourite Legend, grab your favourite gun, and get climbing.