World of Warcraft: Dragonflight Evoker Class - Everything We Know So Far

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The last World of Warcraft expansion to bring around a new class was Legion, which introduced the Demon Hunters. Now, with Dragonflight around the corner, there is a new class on the horizon: the Evoker class.

For the first time since World of Warcraft came out, we’re being treated to a new ranged class. Dracthyr are the only ones that can be Evoker and Evoker are the only ones that can be Dracthyr.


We’ll break down exactly how the Evoker class works in WoW: Dragonflight to help you get familiar before the expansion releases. If you want to stay up to date on Dragonflight, check out our Dracthyr guide, or our how to preorder guide if you want to be truly prepared for Dragonflight.

Table of Contents

World Of Warcraft: Dragonflight Evoker Class

They are a mail-only wearing class. As well, they are a DPS class (Devastation) and a healer class (Preservation). They harness the powers of all the dragonflights, including the bronze dragonflight.

When you start as the Evoker class, you will start at level 58, like you would a Demon Hunter or a Death Knight. This gives you 12 levels to go through and get to grips with your Evoker class before you reach max level as your new Dracthyr Evoker.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight Evoker starting area
Evoker starting area

What are the Evoker Specialisations in WoW: Dragonflight?

There are two specialisations for the Evoker class: the DPS class known as devastation, and the healer class known as preservation. They are both very different from each other, and we’ll be going into more depth here.

The devastation class is a ranged DPS class that harnesses power from the red and blue dragonflights to harm foes from a distance, using concentrated magic and powerful breath attacks. If you ever wanted to feel like you were playing as one of the powerful dragon aspects, this is the class for you.

The preservation class utilizes magic from the green and bronze dragonflights to heal allies, and even uses the power of time to rewind time and heal their wounds that way!

wow, dragonflight, evoker class

Of course, the Evoker class comes with unique abilities. Like Demon Hunters, they can glide too. However, they can take it just that bit further and glide over a battlefield and bathe their enemies in flame using the Pyre ability. An Evoker can also create a Wing Buffet to damage and knock back enemies when fighting in melee range.

Not only do they have their own unique abilities, but they also have something extra special. They have empowered abilities, too. Their toolkit includes these empowered abilities so that you can have them set to a keybind. As you press the keybind, you hold the button down, and the ability gains more power the longer the button is held down.

If you are interested to know more about what it means to be an Evoker, you’ll want to read our guide on the Dracthyr. In case you missed the announcement, we’ve got you covered. We have a 10.0 page detailing everything that has been announced so far, and what to expect from World of Warcraft: Dragonflight.

When is World of Warcraft: Dragonflight releasing?

As of right now, we do not have a set release date for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight. At the moment, it is also unable to be preordered. However, if you want to keep up with all the latest updates, our 10.0 release date page will have you covered as soon as a date comes out.


If you’re into other Blizzard games, keep an eye out on our season 26 Diablo 3 rewards guide so you know exactly what you’re getting this season as you climb through the Fall of the Nephalem. As well, we have a guide detailing the release of Diablo Immortal, and what the game entails, so you won’t miss out on anything.