12 Jul 2021 1:03 PM +00:00

Valorant Challengers NA Main Event: Everything you need to know

The first round of the Main Event for Valorant Challengers 1 Stage 3 North America started today on July 8th 2021.

Eight teams went head to head with each other in the upper bracket Quarterfinals. Four teams progressed to the upper bracket semifinals, while the losers went down to compete in the lower bracket Round 1.

The main event will decide the first four teams that will progress from the double-elimination bracket. These teams will go ahead in the VCT NA Stage 3 Challengers Playoffs.

North America's dominance in Valorant esports is put to the test yet again, as only the top three finishers from the NA VCT Challengers Playoffs advance to VCT Stage 3 Masters Berlin.

Here is everything you need to know about the Valorant Challengers 1 Stage 3 NA.

Jump To

Teams

VCT NA Stage 3 Challengers 1 Main Event schedule and results (Image via Liquipedia)
click to enlarge
VCT NA Stage 3 Challengers 1 Main Event schedule and results (Image via Liquipedia)

The eight teams who made it through from the Open Qualifiers to the main event for NA will compete in a double-elimination bracket. The total prize pool for the main event is €35,000.

  • Sentinels
  • XSET Gaming
  • Team Envy
  • 100 Thieves
  • Version1
  • Gen.G Esports
  • Rise
  • Kansas City Pioneers
Advertisement

Prize Pool

The Main Event has a total prize pool of $50,000 that will be distributed among eight teams based on their placement.

  • 1st: $20,000
  • 2nd: $10,000
  • 3rd: $7,000
  • 4th: $5,000
  • 5th: $3,000
  • 6th: $3,000
  • 7th: $1,000
  • 8th: $1,000
Advertisement

The top four teams from the main event will directly advance to the VCT NA Stage 3 Challengers Playoffs. Similarly, the bottom four teams will look forward to the second challengers' event for VCT NA Stage 3. Challengers 2 is scheduled to begin on July 29th, 2021.

Schedule and Stream

Fans can watch the live broadcast for every match in the VCT NA Challengers 1 Stage 3 Main Event Valorantesports2 on Twitch.

Here is the schedule for all the matches in the Main Event:

July 9

10 PM BST/4 PM CT: Upper bracket quarterfinals

  • Version1 vs. 100 Thieves (0-2)
  • Team Envy vs. Kansas City Pioneers (0-2)
Advertisement

12:30 AM BST/ 6:30 PM CT

  • XSET vs. Rise (2-1)
  • Sentinels vs. Gen.G (2-1)

3 AM BST/ 9 PM CT: Lower bracket Round 1

  • Version1 vs Kansas City Pioneers (1-2)
  • Rise vs Gen.G (1-2)
Advertisement

July 10

10 PM BST/4 PM CT: Upper bracket semifinals

  • 100 Thieves vs. Kansas City Pioneers (2-0)
  • XSET vs Sentinels (2-1)

12:30 AM BST/ 6:30 PM CT: Lower bracket Round 2

  • Sentinels vs. Kansas City Pioneers (2-0)
  • Team Envy vs. Gen.G (2-0)
Advertisement

July 11

8 PM BST/ 2 PM CT: Upper bracket final

  • 100 Thieves vs XSET (2-0)

10:30 PM BST/ 4:30 PM CT: Lower bracket Round 3

  • Sentinels vs Team Envy (2-0)

1 AM BST/7 PM CT: Lower bracket final

  • 100 Thieves vs Sentinels (0-2)
Advertisement

July 12

8 PM BST/ 2 PM CT: Upper bracket Grand Finals

XSET vs. Sentinels (1-3)

Results

So far, 100 Thieves, Team Envy, XSET and Master 2 Reykjavik Champions Sentinels have won their first-round matches in the upper bracket Quarterfinals.

Advertisement

Meanwhile, Pioneer and Gen.G lost their first match in the upper bracket but won their first match in the lower bracket. They will face the losers of the upper bracket's semifinals.

As for Version 1 and Rise, who lost both matches in the upper and the lower bracket, they will have to wait for VCT Challengers 2 Stage 3 to redeem themselves.

100 Thieves took the early lead against Version 1, and Peter "Asuna" Mazuryk took the opportunity to dominate the match on Icebox. Asuna, with 48 kills, set a new record for the highest kills in a single game in competitive Valorant.

On the other hand, Sentinels faced an early upset when Gen.G took the first map on Bind (13-11). Fans saw Tyson "TenZ" Ngo owning the opponents with Yoru, a new agent in his duelist pool. However, he dropped the agent for the next two matches and Sentinels wrapped up the game with a 2-1 scoreline.

For Lower Bracket Round 2, Pioneers and Gen.G faced Sentinels and Team Envy. Both Sentinels and Team Envy progressed to Lower Bracket Round 3 with a 2-0 victory over their opponents.

100 Thieves faced XSET in the upper bracket finals. XSET took the game with a scoreline of 2-0 against the First Strike winners. At the same time, Sentinels defeated Team Envy in Lower Bracket Round 3 with a 2-0 scoreline.

The Lower Bracket Finals featured 100 Thieves and Sentinels, where the Masters 2 champions defeated the First Strike winners with a 2-0 scoreline.

The Upper Bracket Grand Finals was between Sentinels and XSET. The best of five match looked balanced on paper, but Sentinels won the game in convincing fashion. Sentinels took the fight to XSET and held nothing back, and the eventually emerged winners with a comprehensive 3-1 scoreline.

Sentinels, XSET, 100 Thieves and Team Envy progressed to the Champions playoffs for Masters 3 Berlin.