23 Aug 2021 3:03 PM +00:00

Stardew Valley Cup Announced, Offering Competitive Farmers A $40K Prize Pool

We've all witnessed some strange choices for esports games in our time. Hades, Catherine, Tom & Jerry, you name it, someone's probably attempted it. While Farming Simulator's even got its own official league, Stardew Valley is next to join the competitive farming scene.

As announced by Stardew Valley's creator, Eric "ConcernedApe" Barone, is hosting a competition called the "Stardew Valley Cup" with streamer Unsurpassable Z. Featuring four teams comprised of "some of Stardew's most dedicated players," they'll be going head-to-head, competing for a $40k prize pool.

Read More: Will There Be a Stardew Valley 2?

Stardew Valley Cup Announced, Offering Competitive Farmers A $40K Prize Pool

That'll feature several known faces from Stardew Valley's wider community, such as SharkyGames, lilsimsie, and Matthew McCleskey. Speaking about this further, Unsurpassable Z advised this will feature "over 100 different challenges that explore all different parts of Stardew Valley," ranging from naming your horse to reaching Skull Cavern's 100th floor.

Advertisement

We've seen streamers attempting speedrun challenges before in Stardew Valley, though the Cup is certainly a new initiative officially. That goes live on September 4 at 9am PT / Noon ET / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST, live either from UnsurpassableZ's Twitch (covering all four teams) or individually for each streamer.

Source: PC Gamer