5 reasons Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is the most ambitious Lego game ever made

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is the most ambitious Lego game to date. It has been revealed that TT Games is doing much more than remastering previously released games and putting them all together, as they did with Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga. The series is instead being rebuilt from scratch by TT Games.

TT Games needs to design from scratch because they're introducing several new features that are not in previous Lego Star Wars games. LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is quickly becoming the Lego game that fans have dreamed of. Due to the constant delays, we may not be able to receive it soon, but it will blow fans away when it does come out.

Small and fast levels are becoming Hub Worlds.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga introduces hub worlds and open world levels to the Lego Star Wars series. At the time of writing this article, the game is confirmed to feature at least 23 planets and moons of Star Wars. 28 locations will be available, so different parts of the planets and moons will be accessible.

Lego Star Wars games used to have a central hub that led to levels. All older games will be revised to mirror the new approach of hub worlds. As a whole, this will change the gameplay and the atmosphere of the first two Lego Star Wars games entirely.

The Combat is changing completely

Throughout the early Lego Star Wars games, a singular attack button was the player's best friend, which was also true in newer Lego Star Wars titles. LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will change all of that and utilize the Lego Ninjago games' combat system. The Lego Star Wars games will now include combos.

This type of overhaul requires new animations for every combat style in Star Wars. This kind of overhaul was utterly unexpected, and it is greatly appreciated since the older Lego Star Wars games are outdated from a combat perspective. With the new system, the series will receive a much-appreciated improvement.

The game will have 300 Characters playable characters

There will be 800 unique characters in Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, of which 300 are playable. This task is mindblowing and will give the hub worlds an entirely new level of realism that has never been seen before in a Lego game. Moreover, it is expected that they will be voiced as well.

A player could cause a Sith vs. Jedi war by attacking a character from the opposite side in the original Lego Star Wars. Therefore, every NPC would fight based on his force side. My personal hope is that this can be a thing in the newest entry since a hub world wide battle would be insane.

There is more content than any other Lego game

There are 45 main missions in Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, but the biggest draw is all the side content. TT games' former Head of Design, Arthur Parsons, had this to say:

"The game is built on the premise of freedom, the ultimate freedom to go wherever you like in the Star Wars galaxy. We want people to explore everywhere and find all the hidden areas, find the hidden Jawa village on Tatooine..."

In that quote, we get a small taste of everything that's changed in this game. Several people have mentioned that players can pick individual bricks to use the force on in this game, making many fans wonder how much can be hidden away in the hub worlds themselves.

There will be DLC featuring individual movies and spin-offs

Finally, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will include the newer movies and TV shows as DLC. The game will soon be extended to embrace the entire Star Wars galaxy, with six downloadable content packs confirmed so far. A Classic Characters pack is also included, and two packs for The Mandalorian, a Solo: A Star Wars Story pack, a Rogue One: A Star Wars Story pack, and a Bad Batch pack.

There is no doubt this is the most ambitious Lego game to date and will set the standard for every Lego game to come. When we have an update on a new release date we will be sure to post about it.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Star Wars page.