27 May 2021 9:22 AM +00:00

Sega Announces Sonic Central Livestream Event Celebrating 30 Years of Sonic

Sega announced a special Sonic Central presentation in honor of the Sonic 30th anniversary, planned for May 27 at noon EST/ 5 p.m. BST.

Sega promised a “first look at upcoming projects, partnerships, and events” planned to celebrate Sonic’s 30th for the rest of the year and likely beyond.

What these projects are remains mostly a mystery for now, though we do have some idea what to expect thanks to leaks and a few previous announcements.

Some of these might relate to non-Sonic franchises as well.

A news release Sega sent to some publications, including Polygon, mentioned the event would be “spanning the Sonic the Hedgehog franchise and beyond” and include members of the Sonic Team and special guests.

Read more: Sega confirms it's open to reviving old franchises

Jump To

Sonic Central 2021 Time

Sonic Central starts at 9 a.m. PST/12 p.m. EST/5 p.m. BST. Sega hasn’t indicated how long the broadcast will run.

Advertisement

How to Watch Sonic Central 2021

Sega will stream Sonic Central on the official Sonic YouTube and Twitch channels.

Sonic Central 2021 Reveals

There’s no indication what partnerships and events Sega might have in store for Sonic.

Advertisement

However, some rumors point to a collection of classic Sonic games in production and some kind of repackaging for Sonic Colors, among other things.

We’ll likely see something about the Sonic 2 movie as well.

Sonic Unstoppable Trailer

In a separate celebration, Sega posted a new trailer celebrating Sonic's illustrious career and tugging our heartstrings at the same time. Check it out here: