Rocket League 20 Apr 2021 6:05 PM +00:00

Psyonix Hosting Online Rocket League World Championship 2021

+ 1
Jump To
Advertisement

While some Esports organizers are shifting back to in-person events, the Rocket League World Championship 2021 will be remote once again.

Advertisement

Psyonix made the announcement following Activision’s decision to hold limited Call of Duty League LAN events later in 2021.

While there won’t be an in-person Rocket League World Championship 2021, Psyonix is hosting a week of online events called the Rocket League Championship Series X Champion.

The RCLS X event runs from June 15 through June 20.

It’s a regional tournament taking place in North America, Europe, South America, and Oceania, where qualifying teams face off to determine who reigns supreme in their respective regions.

Each regional tournament will stream live on the Rocket League Twitch channel.

Read more: 2D Rocket League is giving us major GTA vibes

Rocket League World Championship 2021 Schedule

Here's each region's schedule for the Rocket League World Championship 2021.

Tuesday, June 15:

  • Europe, Round 1 - 8 a.m. PDT (3 p.m. UTC)
  • Europe Quarterfinal #1 - 10 a.m. PDT (5 p.m. UTC)
  • North America, Round 1 - 1 p.m. PDT (8 p.m. UTC)
  • North America, Quarterfinal #1 - 3 p.m. PDT (10 p.m. UTC)
Advertisement

Wednesday, June 16:

  • Europe Quarterfinal #2 - 8 a.m. PDT (3 p.m. UTC)
  • North America, Quarterfinal #2 - 10 a.m. PDT (5 p.m. UTC)

Thursday, June 17:

  • Europe Semifinal #1 - 8 a.m. PDT (3 p.m. UTC)
  • North America Semifinal #1 - 11 a.m. PDT (6 p.m. UTC)
Advertisement

Friday, June 18:

  • Europe Semifinal #2 - 8 a.m. PDT (6 p.m. UTC)
  • North America Semifinal #2 - 11 a.m. PDT (6 p.m. UTC)

Saturday, June 19:

  • South America Grand Finals - 2 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. UTC)
  • Oceania Grand Finals - 6 p.m. PDT (1 a.m. UTC)
Advertisement

Sunday, June 20:

  • Europe Grand Finals - 8 a.m. PDT (3 p.m. UTC)
  • North America Grand Finals - 11:30 a.m. PDT (6:30 p.m. UTC)

The final North American regional will feature the Lamborghini x Rocket League collaboration match and Battle of the Bulls event.

Rocket League World Championship 2021 Trailer

Psyonix provided a brief trailer highlighting the new RCLS X tournament.

Rocket League World Championship 2021 Format

Advertisement

The RCLS X has a new format centered around "best of" sets, where teams have to win multiple match series to be crowned champion.

One "Best Of" set includes three "Best Of" series, and the RCLS X Championships will alternate between Best Of 5 sets and Best Of 7 sets.

The first team to win two of the series wins the set.

In South America and Oceania, the top two teams from each region will face off in Best of 7 sets for a chance to win the championship in their regions.

North America and Europe up the stakes even more.

Both regions will include six teams each that face off in several rounds.

Qualifying rounds are Best Of 5 sets, while the Semifinals and Finals will be Best Of 7 sets.

There's a visual breakdown of how this all looks too.

image depicting rocket league world championship NA and EU playoff slots
click to enlarge

Rocket League World Championship 2021 Prizes

  • Europe: $400,000
  • North America: $400,000
  • Oceania: $100,000
  • South America: $100,000
*Gfinity Esports may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.