Modern Warfare 11 Mar 2021 10:06 AM +00:00

E3 2016 Schedule and Predictions

+ 7
Advertisement

Will E3 2016 be the best year for the current gen lifecycle?

Advertisement

We’re counting down the days to possibly one of the most important E3 conferences in the current gen life cycle. From 12th – 14th June, we could be introduced to new console hardware updates, exclusive AAA games for VR headsets, new game devices, expected sequels for our favourite franchises and hopefully new IPs launched by major publishers and platform holders.

Below you will find the dates of the conferences held from the 12th – 14th June and what we expect to be revealed.

Sunday June 12th

Electronic Arts

1 p.m. Pacific / 4 p.m. Eastern / 9 p.m. British Summer Time

http://www.twitch.tv/eaThis year, Electronic Arts will not have a booth on the show floor for E3 2016, however they will be running their own event during the same period of time, called EA Play, which is where they will be holding their briefing.

With EA launching one of the biggest trailers of all time, fans will have high hopes of witnessing a live presentation of Battlefield 1’s gameplay footage.

In addition to this, another big reveal would be to see what’s in store for Titanfall 2, following the teaser trailer they launched earlier in the year. There could also be news of the highly anticipated Mass Effect: Andromeda and a new Star Wars game could even make an appearance. We can certainly expect a range of established games series making a return, such as FIFA, NBA Live, EA Sports UFC and more.

click to enlarge
+ 7

Bethesda

Advertisement

7 p.m. Pacific / 10 p.m. Eastern / 3 a.m. British Summer Time

http://www.twitch.tv/bethesda

At the last E3, Bethesda revealed the fast paced Doom demo, which was officially launched earlier this month. They also surprised the audience with their Fallout 4 trailer and the launch of their new mobile game, Fallout Shelta, which was available for immediate download on the App Store.

This was a huge campaign success and could lead to many more new surprises this year, like gameplay footage of Dishonored 2 which will launch in November 2016, new DLC for Doom and possible news on the future of Elders Scrolls and Battlecry.

click to enlarge
+ 7

Monday June 13th

Advertisement

Microsoft

9:30 a.m. Pacific / 12:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:30 p.m. British Summer Time

http://www.twitch.tv/xbox Also streaming on Xbox One, Xbox.com

Microsoft had an impressive 2015 at E3, revealing the backwards capability 360 support for Xbox One, Hololens tech demoed in Minecraft and the new Elite Controller.

In the last few weeks, there are rumours suggesting Microsoft will be revealing two new Xbox One consoles. This year we can expect a slimmer version to be released at a reduced price tag and 40% smaller than the original Xbox One. Now the bigger announcement, which could sway the battle in this current gen 'war', is the reveal of a more powerful Xbox One in 2017, currently under the codename Scorpio. This new model is expected to have a more powerful GPU and support the Oculus Rift and 4K. There are also rumours suggesting there will be a new standard controller, which could introduce a new colour scheme, like the Lunar White Wireless Controller.

Microsoft may also provide us with footage of previously announced games such as Recore, Halo Wars 2, Sea of Thieves, Crackdown 3, Gears of War 4, and potentially new releases for the Tomb Raider and Forza Horizon series’. We can also expect more news on Window 10 Universal Window Platform (UWP) and any new developments taking advantage of the Hololens headset.

click to enlarge
+ 7

PC Gaming Show

Advertisement

11:30 a.m. Pacific / 2:30 p.m. Eastern / 7:30 p.m. British Summer Time

http://www.pcgamingshow.com

The PC Gaming Show will make a return for the second year running at E3. PC gamers can expect new hardware upgrades, graphic cards, keyboards, mice, VR Headsets (Oculus Rift, HTC Vive), Steam, Xbox One games launching on Windows 10 and maybe the future of cross platform gaming between systems. New games like Boss Key’s PC shooter, Lawbreakers and a range of new exclusive PC titles will certainly be on show.

click to enlarge
+ 7

Ubisoft

Advertisement

1 p.m. Pacific / 4 p.m. Eastern / 9 p.m. British Summer Time

http://www.twitch.com/ubisoft

Ubisoft never disappoints with an impressive line-up of games. It is almost guaranteed that there will be plenty of news on upcoming DLC for The Division, a Watch Dogs 2 reveal and more gameplay footage with a potential release date of For Honor. We can also expect to see games like South Park: The Fractured But Whole, Tom’s Clancy Ghost Recon Wildlands and their newest IP at the show.

click to enlarge
+ 7

Sony

Advertisement

6:00 p.m. Pacific / 9 p.m. Eastern / 2 a.m. British Summer Time

http://www.twitch.tv/playstation

Sony had an impressive line-up of announcements at the last E3; Shenmue 3 Kickstarter project, The Last Guardian, exclusive Street Fighter V, Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, Guerrilla’s new IP Horizon: Zero Dawn and Sony’s very own PlayStation VR headset.

This year we can expect the official reveal and details on the PlayStation Neo (PlayStation 4.5), 4K gaming support, additional content for the PlayStation VR and potential announcements for sequels like Destiny 2 & The Last of Us 2.

Call of Duty Infinite Warfare will certainly dominate the Sony conference and could reveal the campaign mode. Players will certainly like to see more developments of Shenmue 3, Horizon: Zero Dawn, the highly anticipated Gran Turismo 7 and Hideo Kojima’s new PS4 game, which is currently in development by his independent studio Kojima Productions.

click to enlarge
+ 7

Tuesday June 14th

Advertisement

Nintendo

9:00 a.m. Pacific / 12 p.m. Eastern / 5 p.m. British Summer Time

https://www.twitch.tv/nintendo

This year Nintendo has opted out of their recent trend of Digital Events and will have a live event for their Nintendo Treehouse: Live show. They have confirmed there will not be a reveal of the Nintendo NX at E3, as it will be held later in the year prior to the official console release in March 2017. The only game on show will be the Wii U version of Legend of Zelda, which will be the first time it will be playable by the public.

Just in case you haven’t heard, Take-Two also mentioned they will be at E3 2016 in a “big way”. Could this mean Red Dead Redemption 2 its on its way?

click to enlarge
+ 7

Stay tuned for further updates leading up to the E3 conference. Let us know if there are any games you hope to see at this year’s E3.

Keep up to date with all the latest gaming and eSports news via our Twitter: @Gfinity.

*Gfinity Esports may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.