Overwatch 2 release time countdown - when can you play Overwatch 2?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
overwatch 2 release time, countdown
October 4, 2022: Overwatch 2 finally launches today

If you're looking for the Overwatch 2 release time, here is everything you should know. With so many players looking forward to finally getting into the game, playing the second it releases is how many will get ahead. Luckily, the wait to get in there is almost over.

Advertisement

As well as going over the release time and date, we'll go over all the platforms you can play the game on, as well as some information on how progression works and what we know about crossplay so far. Needless to say, this upgrade still leaves fans with a lot of questions. We'll answer what we can.

Table of Contents

If you're looking to know more about the game, here's what we know about the Overwatch 2 roadmap and Overwatch 2 release date. If you're looking for something a little different, this is what we know about Overwatch 2's Kiriko and the Overwatch 2 battle pass. There's quite a lot of new things to figure out.

Overwatch 2 release time countdown

The first Overwatch game has finally shut down, leaving its servers inactive. This means the team are prepping for a huge new launch. Overwatch 2 is set to finally launch on October 4 and will be entirely free to play.

Overwatch 2 release time countdown - when can you play Overwatch 2?
Advertisement

Once you have it downloaded, you have to wait for the following times to play it for yourself:

  • 12 pm PDT
  • 3 pm EDT
  • 8 pm BST
  • 9 pm CEST
  • 12:30 am IST

Overwatch 2 platforms

Overwatch 2 will be launching on PS4, PS5, Xbox Series X/S, PC, and Nintendo Switch. Given the relatively low specs of the Nintendo Switch, it was rather surprising to some that the game would be launching there. This being said, it is functionally an upgrade to the previous game, which does work on Nintendo Switch.

Advertisement

Though it may not be the most impressive way to run the game, it will likely play just fine on Nintendo Switch. Though we are a few years of the next iteration of consoles, it seems like Blizzard are planning to keep these games running long-term.

Does Overwatch progress carry over?

Yes, your skins and items will carry over into Overwatch 2. Overwatch 2 is both a sequel to and an upgrade on the original, almost like a big update as opposed to an entirely new game. This allows the team to go free-to-play and put out some changes to the formula.

If you happen to have played it on multiple platforms, you can link them all up by going to the site and accessing your account.

Advertisement

Overwatch 2 cross play

Overwatch 2 will support full crossplay, regardless of platform, from launch. If you want to turn this off, you can do so from the settings option but this will lock you into playing against people on the same platform. If you play on Xbox and want to play against PS5 owners, you also have to play against those on PC.

Though launching as a free to play title may help it, there will be tonnes of competition. If you're looking for some more free titles, check out our Genshin Impact tier list, AFK Arena tier list, and YuGiOh Master Duel deck tier list. There really is so much to play.