Apex Legends Season 17 countdown - Update release time and download size

A promotional image for Apex Legends Season 17.
Credit: Respawn Entertainment

A promotional image for Apex Legends Season 17.
Credit: Respawn Entertainment
May 9, 2023: Season 17 is just a few hours away! Find all you need to know in our guide.

Apex Legends Season 17 is coming this week and players are excited about the new Legend, content, and changes that are coming to the game. It's only a matter of time until this update hits the servers so we'll let you know what the release time and the update size are. You can check out our Apex Legends Season 17 countdown, which includes the update release time and download size so you're prepared for the game.

At the moment, Apex Legends released their teasers for the upcoming season with a brand new episode of the game's animated featurette series, Stories From the Outlands, called "Encore." There will be a new point of interest (POI) on World's Edge which is the Apex Games Museum.

Apex Legends Season 17 countdown

Recently, the Apex Legends: Arsenal trailer launched along with official gameplay. The new update will be dropping hot on May 9, 2023. The trailer features the new legend, Ballistic, who'll be the newest Assault Legend to join the roster.

A promotional image of Ballistic from Apex Legends.
expand image
Credit: Respawn Entertainment

Season 17 update release time

We have just a few hours until this new update drops. Depending on where you are across the world, the release time for the new Apex Legends update might be different. You can check out the Apes Legends Season 17 countdown via this link. But you can also read right below the different dates and times when the new update will be released in your area:

  • May 9th - 11 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, USA)
  • May 9th - 1 p.m. CDT (USA Central)
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!
  • May 9th - 2 p.m. EDT (New York, USA)
  • May 9th - 7 p.m. BST (London, UK)
  • May 9th - 11:30 p.m. IST (India)
  • May 10th - 3 a.m. JST (Tokyo, Japan)
  • May 10th - 4 a.m. Sydney (Australia)

Despite these set dates though, players must note that these are still subject to change and can still face delays. The availability of servers and stable matches may also affect the time the update gets to you. So, keep an eye out for updates regarding that.

Download size

In terms of the download size, we still have no information on the updated preload size for Apex Legends Season 17. However, we can make a rough estimate of how big the next update will be. For Season 16, the preload update size was 24 GB for the PS5 and 43 GB on the PS4. While on Steam, it's roughly around 9 GB at most.

With a lot of new content coming up, expect that the update size could increase from that range of sizes from the previous update. Be sure to have an allowance of more than enough storage for your devices so you won't run into problems when installing.

There you have it, that's all the information you need to know on Apex Legends Season 17's release time and download size. If you want more Apex Legends content, you can check out our other guides such as our Apex Legends weapon tier list and our guide on the Apex Legends Season 17 early patch notes. We also have a piece on how to fix Apex Legends error code 110 if you've run into that issue.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

GuidesApex Legends
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!