02 Jul 2021 2:29 PM +00:00

Gears Of War Developer The Coalition Will Showcase An Unreal Engine 5 Demo This Month

Gears Of War's developer The Coalition has confirmed they'll be showing off an Unreal Engine 5 demo later this month. Calling this the "Alpha Point" demo, this follows previous news that the studio's shifted development towards next-gen consoles after Gears 5's Operation 8 releases.

Offering an hour-long session, that's being held on Tuesday, July 20 at 1.20pm PT / 4.20pm ET / 9.20pm BST, presented by The Coalition’s technical director Kate Rayner and technical art director Colin Penty. According to the team, they created Alpha Point's Xbox Series X demo to internally evaluate Unreal Engine 5.

Read More: Everything We Know About Gears 6

Gears Of War Developer The Coalition Will Showcase An Unreal Engine 5 Demo This Month

That comes as part of a Game Developers Conference (GDC), offering this description:

The talk will cover the learnings the team had while creating Nanite-resolution assets and incorporating them into a fully real-time lighting scenario with Lumen and Virtual Shadow Maps. Performance and memory observations will be covered for Xbox Series X and S, as well as VFX, Blueprint, material setup, Temporal Super Resolution, and Virtual Texture findings. The Coalition will also cover some preliminary findings on next-gen character creation and MetaHumans integration, demoing a next-generation character test running on Xbox Series X.

This year, GDC's being run as an all-digital event from July 19-23, though registration is unfortunately not cheap. While we're not expecting any new game announcements particularly soon, we're certainly curious to how they'll utilise this newer tech.