Gaming News

24 Feb 2021

How To Download The Black Ops Cold War 1.11 Update FAST On PS4, Xbox One, PS5, Xbox Series X, And PC

Black Ops Cold War is receiving a new update this week!

On February 4th, the final update for Season One will see the launch of the Firebase Z Zombies map and the return of classic Black Ops map Express to multiplayer.

How can you download the update as quickly as possible?

Here’s exactly what you need to do.

Black Ops Cold War Update 1.11 Time

The update is expected to go live on February 3rd at 11PM PT while other users from across the world will see it go live on the 4th at 1AM CT, 2AM ET, 7AM GMT, 8AM CEST and 6PM AEDT.

Update Sizes

  • PS5 - 10GB
  • Xbox Series X - 11GB
  • Xbox One - 10.3GB
  • PS4 - 9GB

Sizes may differ from person to person.

How To Download Black Ops Cold War 1.11 On PS4 And PS5

For PS4 players, the ability to pre-download the update has already gone live. The download should begin automatically, but if it doesn’t, press the ‘Options’ button on the controller when the game is highlighted.

Select the ‘Check for Update’ option to find the 1.10 update and it should begin the download.

Pre-downloading is yet to begin for PS5 players but once it is, follow the process above to start the download.

If you’re downloading for the very first time, you can download the update along with the full game from the PlayStation Store.

How To Download Black Ops Cold War 1.11 On Xbox One And Xbox Series X

While the ability to pre-download the update isn’t available for Xbox players, there are still ways to make sure that it can be downloaded as fast as possible.

More often than not, the update should begin downloading automatically if ‘Instant On’ is active.

If not, closing down the game and re-opening it will trigger the update to begin.

For those downloading the game for the first time, head to the Xbox Store to download the update along with the entire game.

How To Download Black Ops Cold War 1.11 On PC

Before downloading the update on PC, ensure you have enough space on the hard drive.

When launching Battle.Net, the update should begin to download without any further prompting.

If the update isn’t downloading, close down Battle.Net and re-open it to start the update.

How To Download Update 1.11 As Fast As Possible

Close All Games And Applications

When downloading an update of any kind, the more items that are open, the download speed will almost certainly slow down.

Some of the apps that are open may well be a higher priority than the update itself, further slowing it down.

Make sure all unnecessary apps and programs are closed down on the PC or console to download it as fast as possible.

Put Console Into Rest Mode

When the console is on, it constantly uses bandwidth to check for updates and any notifications from a variety of places.

By placing it into Rest Mode and turning on automatic downloads, the update should download at a much faster speed.

Move The Console Closer To WiFi Router Or Use An Ethernet Cable

One of the fastest ways to download the 1.11 update is by connecting the console or PC to the router by using an ethernet cable.

The cable provides a direct connection to the router, meaning no outside interference can disrupt the download.

If you don’t have access to an ethernet cable, try and move the console or PC closer to the router to gain a slight increase in internet performance.

Avoid Downloading At Peak Times

Although everyone is desperate to jump into the action at the earliest possible moment, downloading the update when fewer people are online will allow you to download quicker thanks to an increase in speed.

Restart Your Router

If you do experience problems with download speed, it may be worth considering restarting your router.

If you encounter issues when downloading other updates, it’s likely that a problem with your router is slowing you down.

Unplug or press the reset button on the back of the router could solve your issues long enough to download the update quickly.

Change DNS Settings

When downloading previous updates for Black Ops Cold War, some players have reported that a change in DNS settings has improved their download speeds.

To change the DNS settings, enter the network settings of the console and choose to set up the DNS settings manually.

We used 8.8.8.8 as the Primary DNS and 8.8.4.4 as the Secondary DNS. This is Google’s public DNS and could help you download update 1.11 fast.