14 Jun 2021 2:47 PM +00:00

Upcoming Games Events In 2021 - E3, GamesCom, Summer Games Fest, And More: Dates, Times, Presentations, And Everything You Need To Know

Jump To

Keeping track of upcoming events has been chaotic in the last few years. While E3 is traditionally the home for gaming's biggest announcements, last year's cancellation led to a wide scattering of different events. As many countries still deal with the COVID-19 pandemic, that's set to continue in 2021.

This year, E3's back as an all-digital event but you might be wondering what else is planned. We'll keep this updated as we learn more, but here's everything we know so far about upcoming events.

Advertisement

E3 2021 - June 12 To June 15

After taking a year's absence due to COVID-19, E3 is back for 2021. We already know this event will feature presentations from Ubisoft, Nintendo, Xbox, Bethesda Softworks, SEGA, Capcom, Square Enix, Take-Two Interactive Software, Bandai Namco Entertainment, Warner Bros. Games, XSeed Games, and Gearbox Entertainment.

Furthermore, the ESA has confirmed they'll be launching a digital portal and mobile app for this year's event, though you can still watch via Twitch, YouTube, Twitter and Facebook. Ubisoft, Microsoft/Bethesda, Razer and Nintendo have confirmed presentation times, and we'll keep you updated as we learn more.

In the meantime, fan registration has gone live, and you can check out our E3 2021 hub for further details.

Limited Run Games E3 Presentation - June 14

Niche publisher Limited Run Games has confirmed they'll be back with their own "E3 style" presentation this year, though it won't actually be part of E3's line-up. Don't expect many (if any) new games here though, as Limited Run Games will showcase 25 physical game announcements.

That goes live on Twitch at 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 9pm BST / 10pm CEST.

Steam Next Fest - June 16 To June 22

Having brought us the Steam Game Festival last year, Valve's renamed it to Steam Next Fest for 2021. They're describing this as a "multi-day celebration of upcoming games", featuring hundreds of game demos, developer livestreams, and more.

Advertisement

LEGO CON - June 26

LEGO Group has announced that they'll be hosting their first ever online show, going live for 90 minutes at 9am PT / Noon ET / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST. That'll feature several different game studios, which may offer news on games like LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

NACON CONNECT - July 6

Publisers NACON has confirmed they'll be holding their own event, featuring games like Blood Bowl 3, Vampire: The Masquerade - Swansong and Lord of the Rings: Gollum. That's at 10am PT / 2pm ET / 6pm BST / 10pm CEST.

PAX Online - July 15 To July 18

PAX Online 2021 is being held as a virtual online event, after cancelling the planned in-person PAX East event on June 3–6.

EGX Rezzed - July 15 To July 17

Having been cancelled last year, EGX Rezzed is back for 2021, hosted at the Tobacco Dock in London. Offering a smaller event than the larger EGX in October, this predominantly focuses on indie games, offering pre-release demos for both PC and consoles. As a physical event, they're also planning opportunities to "chat with developers on the show floor".

EA Play Live - July 22

EA has confirmed they'll be hosting EA Play Live 2021, rather than appear at E3. We don't know much yet but the official website confirms they'll disclose more details soon. You can check out our hub in the meantime for all the latest updates.

Advertisement

Game Developers Conference - July 19 To July 23

Working as a weeklong event, July sees the second half of GDC 2021. Having previously appeared in March, this event will also host the Independent Games Festival and Game Developers Choice Awards.

Annapurna Interactive Showcase - July 29

During Day of the Devs at Summer Games Fest, Annapurna Interactive confirmed we'd be getting a showcase of their upcoming games. This'll take place at 12pm PT /3pm ET / 8pm BST / 9pm CEST. We can expect news on games like Neon White, The Artful Escape, Solar Ash, and Stray.

Future Games Show - August

During GamesRadar's Spring Showcase for the Future Games Show in March, they confirmed additional presentations would take place in June and August. While we've seen details for the June event, we've not heard much about August's one so far.

QuakeCon - August 19 To August 21

ZeniMax Media has confirmed that much like last year, QuakeCon is remaining a digital event for 2021. Further event details have been promised in June, and you can find more details here.

GamesCom - August 25 To August 27th

Advertisement

Much like 2020, GamesCom is back as a digital-only event this year, having initially announced plans to run a hybrid setup with a physical presence. Geoff Keighley will host an opening ceremony called Opening Night Live, and you can keep track of our full coverage here.

Separately, a developer-focused conference called DevCom is also being held, which runs from August 23 until August 27.

Tokyo Game Show - September 30 To October 3

Originally, 2021's Tokyo Game Show was planned to return as a physical event. However, it was later announced that this event would use a virtual online format, beginning at the end of September.

EGX - October 7 To October 10

EGX has confirmed plans to host a physical event at the ExCeL Centre in London this year. Scheduled to last four days, this is more for those looking at a hands-on experience with upcoming games, rather than a place for new announcements.

The Game Awards - December

During Summer Games Fest: Kickoff Live!, Geoff Keighley revealed The Game Awards are coming back this December as an in-person event. He confirmed we'd learn more in the coming months.

Other Events

These events are currently confirmed to be going ahead, but we don't have confirmation as to when. As further details get announced, we'll keep this updated.

Advertisement
Prime Day Top Deal!

SanDisk Extreme 500GB Portable NVMe SSD

Amazon (US) $149.99
43% off $84.99
Amazon (UK) £136.99
49% off £69.99
Prime Day Top Deal!

SAMSUNG 32 inch UJ59 4K monitor

Amazon (US) $399.99
24% off $303.99
Amazon (UK) £339.99
27% off £249.00
Massive Discount!

Logitech G935 Wireless Gaming RGB Headset

Amazon (UK) £159.99
22% off £124.00
*Gfinity Esports may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.