26 Jul 2021 11:14 PM +00:00

When Will The Fortnite Servers Be Back Up?

The new Fortnite 17.21 update arrives Tuesday 27 July.

This new update could be a big one, as it aims to balance a number of weapons and fix irritating bugs. More importantly for fans of the game, it should also introduce plenty of new content too. Remarkably it arrives just one week after the 17.20 update.

We've seen plenty of leaks over the past week that hints at what is coming, we've covered a lot of it on the above link.

Advertisement

While we wait to see what new content is released, or leaked via dataminers, there's almost certainly going to be some downtime ahead of the update going live. Which means you won't be able to play Fortnite.

Fans are naturally curious about the Fortnite servers going down for this latest update and how long the servers could be down.

So when will the servers be back up?

click to enlarge

When Will The Fortnite Servers Be Back Up?

Advertisement

At the time of writing, Epic Games has confirmed the release time for the 17.21 update. We know it is coming on Tuesday 27 July.

"In preparation for the update, services will be disabled starting at approx. 03:30 AM ET (07:30 UTC)." Epic Games Server Status Twitter account told fans.

That's 8.30AM BST for those in the UK and it means that we can expect server maintenance to last a good few hours.

We're expecting the servers to be down for a few hours and come back online at around 11am BST at the latest.

The downtime varies depending on the size of the update and how quickly the devs can perform the maintenance needed, so don't be surprised or upset if it takes slightly longer. You can also check on the game's server status too.

As for the new Fortnite Patch Notes, well Epic Games rarely goes out of their way to share patch notes anymore. That said, we have some preliminary ideas based on what's been mentioned on the game's Trello Board. So follow the link above for a brief preview of what to expect.