The Elder Scrolls Online Gates Of Oblivion: Release Date, Trailer, Content, Blackwood Chapter, Pre-Order Rewards, Story And More

This article contains information about the 'release-date' of either a movie, game or product. Unless stated explicitly, release dates are speculative & subject to change. See something wrong? Contact us here

Could the newest expansion for The Elder Scrolls Online bring some old school players to the game?

The Gates of Oblivion seem to be heavily based off of Skyrim's predecessor.

Oblivion holds the award for the buggiest, most broken but must-loved game out there.

Fingers crossed we won't see anyone flying off of horses as we did previously.

Here's everything we know about The Elder Scrolls Online Gate Of Oblivion so far.

This title is lacking in information currently but we'll keep you in the loop as we find out more.

READ MORE: The Elder Scrolls 6 PS5: Votes Open For 'Most Anticipated Game' On PlayStation Blog Amid Console Exclusive Rumours

Release Date

All we know about the release date so far is that Gates of Oblivion will launch sometime in 2021.

This is all the information we are given from the Game Awards reveal.

The Greymoor expansion came out May 2020 so it's likely we'll see it released around that time of year.

We should know more soon as the devs will be hosting an event on January 21st to reveal more details.

Watching the stream will also get you a Viridescent Dragon Frog pet as a Twitch drop.


You can check out The Elder Scrolls Online Gates of Oblivion teaser below.



  • Flames of Ambition (March 8 for PC/Mac and Stadia* and March 16 for Xbox One and PlayStation®4)
  • Blackwood (June 1 for PC/Mac and Stadia* and June 8 for Xbox One and PlayStation 4)
  • Unannounced Q3 DLC dungeon pack (date TBD)
  • Unannounced Q4 DLC story zone (date TBD)

Blackwood Chapter

Pre-Order And Pre-Purchase Rewards

Pre-purchase The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood and you’ll receive the following in-game items at launch:

  • Dremora Kynreeve Outfit 
  • Deadlands Wamasu Pet 
  • 1× Iron Atronach Crate 
  • 3× Blackwood Treasure Maps 
  • 2× Experience Scrolls 
expand image
expand image
expand image


The Collection

"Includes the base game and ALL previous Chapters (Morrowind, Summerset, Elsweyr, and Greymoor) in addition to Blackwood."

The Upgrade

"Includes the Blackwood Chapter exclusively."

Available Editions

  • The Elder Scrolls Online Collection: Blackwood
  • The Elder Scroll Online Collection: Blackwood Collector’s Edition
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Upgrade
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Upgrade Collector’s Edition

Collectors Edition

The Collector’s Edition items include:

  • Battlefield Nightmare Senche mount 
  • Jewel-Feathered Sep Adder pet
  • Temporal Grimoire memento 
  • Deadlands Gladiator Outfit Style
  • Offer Weapon emote
expand image


So far we only have the trailer to analyse the story to come in the next chapter.

It shows a wood elf having a nightmare.

In the dream, there's a long tunnel lit with torches.

It seems the book she's laying next to is the source of said nightmare.

The tunnel leads out to a barren fiery landscape.

When I saw this scene it took me back to playing The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, so they captured the expansion well.

The fourth game in the series came out in 2006 and it looks like the newest online expansion will be influenced heavily by it.

We expect players to have a new world or region to explore, no doubt we'll also get some new trails too.

We'll keep you updated as more information is released.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Elder Scrolls
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!