DOTA 2 AniMajor: Everything You Need To Know

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The professional esports scene of DOTA 2 continues to soar high as the WePlay AniMajor will officially begin today.

Commonly known as AniMajor, it is the second and final major tournament of the world-renowned DOTA Pro Circuit (DPC) wherein 18 teams from the different parts of the globe will compete for the last chance to gain massive DPC points.


So, keep reading and we’ll give everything you need to know about the 2021 DOTA 2 AniMajor tournament.

Table of Contents

DOTA 2 WePlay AniMajor Date And Place

This year’s AniMajor will begin today, June 2, and will run until June 13. It will be held in Kyiv, Ukraine as a LAN tournament.

DOTA 2 WePlay AniMajor Tournament Format

The 18 teams that will compete in AniMajor will be divided into three stages. Six teams will compete in each stage.


The first stage is the Wildcard. The first six teams will take turns in facing each other in best-of-two matches. The top two teams with the best record after all teams have faced each other will advance in the Group Stage, and the other four will be eliminated.

This will be followed by the Group Stage where six new teams who finished as second place from the six DPC regional leagues along with the two teams who advanced from the Wildcard stage will take turns to face each other in best-of-two matches.

The top two teams with the best record after all teams have faced each other will advance in the upper bracket of the Playoffs, the third to sixth-placed teams will also advanced but must begin the Playoffs from the lower bracket, and the bottom two teams will be eliminated.

The final stage would be the Playoffs. Eight teams comprised of the top two teams from the Group Stage and six teams who placed number one from the six DPC regional leagues will begin the upper bracket. On the other hand, the four teams who placed as third to sixth in the Group Stage will begin the lower bracket, where every match is do-or-die. This would begin the long way to determine who will be crowned as the WePlay AniMajor champion.


DOTA 2 WePlay AniMajor Prize And DPC Points Pool

The total prize pool for this year’s AniMajor will be $500,000 (£352,930), as well as 2,700 DPC point pool. But only the top eight teams from the Playoffs would receive a cut from the mentioned prize and DPC point pool.

DOTA 2 WePlay AniMajor Competing Teams

Here are all the competing teams for this year’s AniMajor.

  • Wildcard – Team Nigma (EU), Team Secret (EU), Execration (SEA), Vici Gaming (China), Invictus Gaming (China), and AS Monaco Gambit (CIS)
  • Group Stages – Team Liquid (EU), TNC Predator (SEA), PSG.LGD (China), Team Spirit (CIS), Beastcoast (SA), and Evil Geniuses (NA)
  • Playoffs – Alliance (EU), T1 (SEA), Team Aster (China), (CIS), Quincy Crew (NA), and NoPing Esports (SA)

Follow us for more DOTA 2 news and updates, including the day-to-day coverage of AniMajor 2021!

READ MORE: DOTA 2: Na'Vi Seeing Drastic Changes as TI10 Qualifiers Approaches