08 Apr 2021 8:27 AM +00:00

Destiny 2 PS5 and Xbox Series X Downtime: When is it and How Long Will It Last?

Destiny 2's Beyond Light expansion was essentially the first of two big updates coming to Bungie's loot/shooter/MMO hybrid before the end of 2020.

Launching this week is patch 3.0.1, which will optimize the game for PS5 and Xbox Series S/X.

As with any sizeable update, there's expected to be some downtime – so here's all you need to know.

Read More: Destiny 2 PS5 and Xbox Series X Countdown: Start Time, Patch Notes, Server Downtime and New Features

Advertisement

Destiny 2 Patch 3.0.1 Update Downtime Schedule

Here's Bungie's proposed rollout as per a recent blog post:

December 3, 10 AM PST (1800 UTC): Destiny 2 background maintenance for Update 3.0.1 begins. December 3, 2PM PST (2200 UTC): Destiny 2 background maintenance for Update 3.0.1. completes. December 8, 7 AM PST (1500 UTC): Destiny 1 and 2 maintenance for Update 3.0.1 begins. December 8, 8 AM PST (1600 UTC): Players are removed from activities in Destiny 1 and 2 and won't be able to log back in until 9 AM PST when Update 3.0.1 is available. December 8, 9 AM PST (1700 UTC): Destiny 2 Update 3.0.1 is rolled out across all platforms and regions. Players can log back into Destiny 1 and Destiny 2 at this time. Ongoing maintenance is expected to conclude at 10 AM PST.  December 8, 10 AM PST (1800 UTC): Destiny 1 and Destiny 2 maintenance is expected to conclude. 

At the earliest, then, you may be expecting to jump into the game on your new consoles at 6 PM BST on December 8.

Unfortunately, because the game is being entirely overwritten, Bungie says you'll have to install it in its entirety.

With that in mind, you'll want to set some time aside to redownload.

Even worse, Bungie says that pre-loading isn't available – meaning you're likely to need to wait a couple of hours at least.